miniPCI WLAN card on RoBoard with Ubuntu Linux

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
19 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
19 postsPage 1 of 21, 2

miniPCI WLAN card on RoBoard with Ubuntu Linux

Post by Marsman » Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:56 am

Post by Marsman
Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:56 am

Hi all,

I got my RoBoard that far:
- installed Ubunutu 9.04 following the excellent howto http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/tutor ... of-3-3268/
- configured Grub to go only to runlevel 3 (ssh)
- fixed IP LAN address for the RoBaord in my home network
- able to log into the RoBoard from my PC using XMing; can start X-Applications
- replaced miniPCI Volari graphic card with miniPCI WLAN card (Via VT6655)
- started RoBoard (w/o graphic card)
- again, able to log into the RoBoard from my PC using XMing; can start X-Applications
.....
The only issue is that Linux did not recognize the VT6655 WLAN card. So I still have to use the LAN cable to connect. Does someone know if there is a driver available for this WLAN card under Linux?

Would appreciate any support.

Thanks,

Thorsten
Hi all,

I got my RoBoard that far:
- installed Ubunutu 9.04 following the excellent howto http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/tutor ... of-3-3268/
- configured Grub to go only to runlevel 3 (ssh)
- fixed IP LAN address for the RoBaord in my home network
- able to log into the RoBoard from my PC using XMing; can start X-Applications
- replaced miniPCI Volari graphic card with miniPCI WLAN card (Via VT6655)
- started RoBoard (w/o graphic card)
- again, able to log into the RoBoard from my PC using XMing; can start X-Applications
.....
The only issue is that Linux did not recognize the VT6655 WLAN card. So I still have to use the LAN cable to connect. Does someone know if there is a driver available for this WLAN card under Linux?

Would appreciate any support.

Thanks,

Thorsten
Marsman offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:47 am

Post by limor » Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:37 pm

Post by limor
Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:37 pm

limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by Marsman » Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:17 pm

Post by Marsman
Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:17 pm

Hi limor,

thanks a lot for that valuable link. I downloaded the driver and installed it.

Now the obvious challenge is to start the RoBoard without graphic card but with WLAN card, instead. Is there a way to monitor the kernel messages so I can see if it starts up and what the IP over WLAN will be (iwconfig)?

Cheers,

Marsman
Hi limor,

thanks a lot for that valuable link. I downloaded the driver and installed it.

Now the obvious challenge is to start the RoBoard without graphic card but with WLAN card, instead. Is there a way to monitor the kernel messages so I can see if it starts up and what the IP over WLAN will be (iwconfig)?

Cheers,

Marsman
Marsman offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:47 am

Post by PedroR » Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:45 am

Post by PedroR
Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:45 am

The Roboard has a console redirection feature that lets you see all output through the COM port.

I am not too familiar with this but I know you need to enable console redirection in the BIOS and I believe there is also a switch you need to use on the Roboard.
Not sure which though; check out the download section on the Roboard website as you may be able to find that info there.

Console output is redirected to COM1 which is RS232.
The Roboard has a console redirection feature that lets you see all output through the COM port.

I am not too familiar with this but I know you need to enable console redirection in the BIOS and I believe there is also a switch you need to use on the Roboard.
Not sure which though; check out the download section on the Roboard website as you may be able to find that info there.

Console output is redirected to COM1 which is RS232.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by crane » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:15 pm

Post by crane
Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:15 pm

I am also trying to use the wifi card, but having trouble installing the driver. I am running Debian 5.0.

I downloaded the VIA driver and tried to compile the driver, but getting this error. Same error for both "make clean" and "make install".

rb-100:/home/roboard/Drivers/Wifi/VT6655_Linux_src_v1.20.02_x86# make clean
set -e; for d in driver ; do make -C $d clean ; done
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/roboard/Drivers/Wifi/VT6655_Linux_src_v1.20.02_x86/driver'
Makefile:93: /lib/modules/2.6.29.1-vortex86dx/build/.config: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `/lib/modules/2.6.29.1-vortex86dx/build/.config'. Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/roboard/Drivers/Wifi/VT6655_Linux_src_v1.20.02_x86/driver'
make: *** [clean] Error 2

Basically it says it cannot find the .config file.
/lib/modules/2.6.29.1-vortex86dx/build/.config

Any tips? Or, can anyone uploaded the compiled .ko file?

Thanks.
I am also trying to use the wifi card, but having trouble installing the driver. I am running Debian 5.0.

I downloaded the VIA driver and tried to compile the driver, but getting this error. Same error for both "make clean" and "make install".

rb-100:/home/roboard/Drivers/Wifi/VT6655_Linux_src_v1.20.02_x86# make clean
set -e; for d in driver ; do make -C $d clean ; done
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/roboard/Drivers/Wifi/VT6655_Linux_src_v1.20.02_x86/driver'
Makefile:93: /lib/modules/2.6.29.1-vortex86dx/build/.config: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `/lib/modules/2.6.29.1-vortex86dx/build/.config'. Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/roboard/Drivers/Wifi/VT6655_Linux_src_v1.20.02_x86/driver'
make: *** [clean] Error 2

Basically it says it cannot find the .config file.
/lib/modules/2.6.29.1-vortex86dx/build/.config

Any tips? Or, can anyone uploaded the compiled .ko file?

Thanks.
crane offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:21 am

Post by ea4ps » Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:45 pm

Post by ea4ps
Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:45 pm

Do you found the answer?

I'm in same situation. I would be very appreciated if you shared your solution.

Thank you
Do you found the answer?

I'm in same situation. I would be very appreciated if you shared your solution.

Thank you
ea4ps offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:02 pm

Post by Chaosmann » Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:47 am

Post by Chaosmann
Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:47 am

Do you have installed the kernel sources from roboard.com or only the kernel?
Do you have installed the kernel sources from roboard.com or only the kernel?
Chaosmann offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:43 am

Post by ea4ps » Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:30 pm

Post by ea4ps
Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:30 pm

Chaosmann wrote:Do you have installed the kernel sources from roboard.com or only the kernel?


Thank for your answer! Actually not! because always I tried download it I can't extract it. Now I'm going to download it again, I hope to be more lucky this time.
Take the opportunity to ask you something, is normal to install package or libreries with aptitude or is better to do compiling them?

Thank you!
Chaosmann wrote:Do you have installed the kernel sources from roboard.com or only the kernel?


Thank for your answer! Actually not! because always I tried download it I can't extract it. Now I'm going to download it again, I hope to be more lucky this time.
Take the opportunity to ask you something, is normal to install package or libreries with aptitude or is better to do compiling them?

Thank you!
ea4ps offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:02 pm

Post by Chaosmann » Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:41 pm

Post by Chaosmann
Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:41 pm

ea4ps wrote:
Chaosmann wrote:Do you have installed the kernel sources from roboard.com or only the kernel?


Thank for your answer! Actually not! because always I tried download it I can't extract it. Now I'm going to download it again, I hope to be more lucky this time.
Take the opportunity to ask you something, is normal to install package or libreries with aptitude or is better to do compiling them?

Thank you!

tar xzfvp linux-2.6.29.1.tar.gz
With this command it should go.

I normaly prefere to install things over apt, yum or zypper. Depending on the System. In fact that they take care of the dependencies.
ea4ps wrote:
Chaosmann wrote:Do you have installed the kernel sources from roboard.com or only the kernel?


Thank for your answer! Actually not! because always I tried download it I can't extract it. Now I'm going to download it again, I hope to be more lucky this time.
Take the opportunity to ask you something, is normal to install package or libreries with aptitude or is better to do compiling them?

Thank you!

tar xzfvp linux-2.6.29.1.tar.gz
With this command it should go.

I normaly prefere to install things over apt, yum or zypper. Depending on the System. In fact that they take care of the dependencies.
Chaosmann offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:43 am

Post by ea4ps » Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:57 pm

Post by ea4ps
Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:57 pm

Ok, finally I have been able extract it renaming extension (tar.gz --> tar.bz2).
Now, I will try to compile the kernel source... Im reading README.txt and I can see that you can do a couple of ways. You recommend me something? some change into the kernel?

EDIT: I need copy in the root directory (in the SD card) the source full and I will can't delete this directory after the installation? I say this because I have only 1GB capacity
Ok, finally I have been able extract it renaming extension (tar.gz --> tar.bz2).
Now, I will try to compile the kernel source... Im reading README.txt and I can see that you can do a couple of ways. You recommend me something? some change into the kernel?

EDIT: I need copy in the root directory (in the SD card) the source full and I will can't delete this directory after the installation? I say this because I have only 1GB capacity
ea4ps offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:02 pm

Post by SoBot » Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:51 pm

Post by SoBot
Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:51 pm

I also want to get the VNT6655 working. So I am trying to install the Linux Kernel package 2.6.34.1 and the source to install the driver. But if I install the Kernel package 2.6.34.1 I cant start up, it gives the error: kernel panic - not syncing : VFS: unable to mount root FS on unknown-block. Do I need this kernel and the source to make the VNT6655 wifi card work?
I also want to get the VNT6655 working. So I am trying to install the Linux Kernel package 2.6.34.1 and the source to install the driver. But if I install the Kernel package 2.6.34.1 I cant start up, it gives the error: kernel panic - not syncing : VFS: unable to mount root FS on unknown-block. Do I need this kernel and the source to make the VNT6655 wifi card work?
SoBot offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:10 pm

Post by dragonax » Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:18 am

Post by dragonax
Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:18 am

Install ubuntu 10.04 follow same tutorial as ubuntu 9.04. Only thing I changed was the file system as ext4 instead of ext3.
I got usb wirelss, webcam and bluetooth working this way. Then you can just add the roboard kernal (if you want) after into your grub menu so you can choose which kernal to boot from.

Only problem was I couldn't set the screen resolution to more than 800*600 and the wired network card is not working

Hope this helps
Install ubuntu 10.04 follow same tutorial as ubuntu 9.04. Only thing I changed was the file system as ext4 instead of ext3.
I got usb wirelss, webcam and bluetooth working this way. Then you can just add the roboard kernal (if you want) after into your grub menu so you can choose which kernal to boot from.

Only problem was I couldn't set the screen resolution to more than 800*600 and the wired network card is not working

Hope this helps
dragonax offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:46 pm

Post by SoBot » Sat Sep 11, 2010 1:06 pm

Post by SoBot
Sat Sep 11, 2010 1:06 pm

Does your Ubuntu 10.04 run fast enough? I have Xubuntu installed to get better performance because 10.04 runs very slow on my roboard? Anycase, I have a lot of stuff installed now and I dont want to re-install them all. So I'll have to stick with Xubuntu. I got the kernel installed now and boot up with it. I still need to install the kernel source to get past this error: "Makefile:93: /lib/modules/2.6.34.1-vortex86-sg/build/.config: No such file or directory", but I dont know how. I only kow the basics of linux. I have the tar.bz2 file extracted, now what? Please help!
Does your Ubuntu 10.04 run fast enough? I have Xubuntu installed to get better performance because 10.04 runs very slow on my roboard? Anycase, I have a lot of stuff installed now and I dont want to re-install them all. So I'll have to stick with Xubuntu. I got the kernel installed now and boot up with it. I still need to install the kernel source to get past this error: "Makefile:93: /lib/modules/2.6.34.1-vortex86-sg/build/.config: No such file or directory", but I dont know how. I only kow the basics of linux. I have the tar.bz2 file extracted, now what? Please help!
SoBot offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:10 pm

Post by dragonax » Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:32 pm

Post by dragonax
Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:32 pm

Yes ur right ubuntu 10.04 doesn't run as fast but what I do is run it in command line mode without the gnome gui. If you like you can back up all the partitions on ur sd card on to your pc and install again. To back up I just used ubuntu on a desktop pc (vmware) connec sd card then use "sudo partitionmanager" and select each partition and backup. It took about 15mins to backup 8gb sc card. also I have restored is successfully onto same sd card but not sure if you can restore to different sd card
Yes ur right ubuntu 10.04 doesn't run as fast but what I do is run it in command line mode without the gnome gui. If you like you can back up all the partitions on ur sd card on to your pc and install again. To back up I just used ubuntu on a desktop pc (vmware) connec sd card then use "sudo partitionmanager" and select each partition and backup. It took about 15mins to backup 8gb sc card. also I have restored is successfully onto same sd card but not sure if you can restore to different sd card
dragonax offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:46 pm

Post by SoBot » Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:52 am

Post by SoBot
Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:52 am

Ok, I wil try this now. So How did you manage to get ubuntu to start up in console mode automatically?
Ok, I wil try this now. So How did you manage to get ubuntu to start up in console mode automatically?
SoBot offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:10 pm

Next
Next
19 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
19 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
cron