Roboard, Linux, boot times?

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
60 postsPage 4 of 41, 2, 3, 4
60 postsPage 4 of 41, 2, 3, 4

Post by ProblemChild » Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:37 pm

Post by ProblemChild
Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:37 pm

Good that you are cracking on sorting out your problems there!!
Are yo powering your drive off the USB or from a separate PSU I found that a big difference even though it says it's a 2A regulator

I got all the way through with Fedora 10 but the network interface was problematic but I did my initial boot from a USB stick then finished from the DVD drive

John
Good that you are cracking on sorting out your problems there!!
Are yo powering your drive off the USB or from a separate PSU I found that a big difference even though it says it's a 2A regulator

I got all the way through with Fedora 10 but the network interface was problematic but I did my initial boot from a USB stick then finished from the DVD drive

John
ProblemChild offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:02 pm

Post by RogueWarrior65 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:34 am

Post by RogueWarrior65
Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:34 am

IMHO, This is the kind of stuff that should have been worked out by the manufacturer. Nevertheless, when you finally get it all sorted out, would you mind writing up what you did in nauseating detail and posting it?
IMHO, This is the kind of stuff that should have been worked out by the manufacturer. Nevertheless, when you finally get it all sorted out, would you mind writing up what you did in nauseating detail and posting it?
RogueWarrior65 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:50 pm

Post by winchy_matt » Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:05 am

Post by winchy_matt
Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:05 am

ProblemChild wrote:Are yo powering your drive off the USB or from a separate PSU I found that a big difference even though it says it's a 2A regulator
John


The DVD-ROM has an external PSU. I'm currently running the RoBoard from a 7V 2A supply. I don't think I have had any power issues yet! :)
ProblemChild wrote:Are yo powering your drive off the USB or from a separate PSU I found that a big difference even though it says it's a 2A regulator
John


The DVD-ROM has an external PSU. I'm currently running the RoBoard from a 7V 2A supply. I don't think I have had any power issues yet! :)
winchy_matt offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:00 am

Who's Da Daddy!!!!!

Post by ProblemChild » Wed Aug 05, 2009 10:07 am

Post by ProblemChild
Wed Aug 05, 2009 10:07 am

Yippie!!

I'am da daddy !!! ;)

I now have Fedora 11 working well on the ROBoard ...Well at that!

Method :

External USB DVD drive Externally powered too!!
8GB sd card

Fedora 11 i386 version (important that i386 bit)
USB keyboard/mouse

Insert Disc in drive
Boot RoBoard
Press Del go into BIOS and select the DVD as primary boot device
Boot from disc
Select Basic VGA driver (the 2nd one If I remember!)
Follow instructions (expect booting to be SLOOOOOOW)
Format your disc etc
for installation deselect the "office productivity"
Select "software development" ..yes we are going to develop stuff!
keep going forward let it start installing

Go out to the Pub get Drunk this will take HOURS ..well over 4

come back remove dvd from drive reboot
The Roboard WILL BE VERY SLOW to Reboot into the graphical interface
go through the finish script!

There you go one F11 cooked nicely ready to go

Better idea is to change the runlevel to 3 not 5 and use text mode this saves over 150MB of RAM!!!!

you will need to set up networking to boot using the /etc/init.d/network scripts not the network manager.


I'll write that bit up later if any one is interested

You are ready to go ....SWEET !!!

John
Yippie!!

I'am da daddy !!! ;)

I now have Fedora 11 working well on the ROBoard ...Well at that!

Method :

External USB DVD drive Externally powered too!!
8GB sd card

Fedora 11 i386 version (important that i386 bit)
USB keyboard/mouse

Insert Disc in drive
Boot RoBoard
Press Del go into BIOS and select the DVD as primary boot device
Boot from disc
Select Basic VGA driver (the 2nd one If I remember!)
Follow instructions (expect booting to be SLOOOOOOW)
Format your disc etc
for installation deselect the "office productivity"
Select "software development" ..yes we are going to develop stuff!
keep going forward let it start installing

Go out to the Pub get Drunk this will take HOURS ..well over 4

come back remove dvd from drive reboot
The Roboard WILL BE VERY SLOW to Reboot into the graphical interface
go through the finish script!

There you go one F11 cooked nicely ready to go

Better idea is to change the runlevel to 3 not 5 and use text mode this saves over 150MB of RAM!!!!

you will need to set up networking to boot using the /etc/init.d/network scripts not the network manager.


I'll write that bit up later if any one is interested

You are ready to go ....SWEET !!!

John
ProblemChild offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:02 pm

Post by winchy_matt » Wed Aug 05, 2009 10:17 pm

Post by winchy_matt
Wed Aug 05, 2009 10:17 pm

Well I'm giving up with the debian install for now. After about the 10th attempt it looked like I cracked it.. the installation completed, but after a reboot I was not able to log in :(

Again I had no luck installing to the SD card when it was plugged directly into the RoBoard. I had to install to a USB/SD card converter plugged into one of the USB slots.

Also the only way my DVD-ROM will work is if I set the USB 2.0 mode to "Full Speed" in the bios settings. "Hi Speed" wouldn't work.

I installed debian on a new SD card, so I may go back to it and take a look at some point, but for now I'm going to stick with the X-Linux install.
Well I'm giving up with the debian install for now. After about the 10th attempt it looked like I cracked it.. the installation completed, but after a reboot I was not able to log in :(

Again I had no luck installing to the SD card when it was plugged directly into the RoBoard. I had to install to a USB/SD card converter plugged into one of the USB slots.

Also the only way my DVD-ROM will work is if I set the USB 2.0 mode to "Full Speed" in the bios settings. "Hi Speed" wouldn't work.

I installed debian on a new SD card, so I may go back to it and take a look at some point, but for now I'm going to stick with the X-Linux install.
winchy_matt offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:00 am

Post by ProblemChild » Wed Aug 05, 2009 11:02 pm

Post by ProblemChild
Wed Aug 05, 2009 11:02 pm

Well to be honest I'm a bit disappointed in the "quality" of the delivered software/hardware package. I'm still @ work fixing other stuff with the board on my desk and because they only supply Debian Binaries I downloaded the source and was going to compile it!! No problem for me as it's my job ...sorta.. !

Any way I start off the make and all sorts of errors. Now I sorted it because I had a little understanding (all the Header files were in capitols not lower case as in the actual source code!!)

Now this is a real *DUMB* error a school boy would make and quite obviously they have never used the source in this form to create the libraries.

<Johnny>

I have now compiled them on both my desktop and Roboard but i have 12volts powering the Roboard at the moment from out of a hard drive molex connector and it will kill any servo I have ;(

Must now wait until the weekend to test it but at least it now "looks" good!!

John
Well to be honest I'm a bit disappointed in the "quality" of the delivered software/hardware package. I'm still @ work fixing other stuff with the board on my desk and because they only supply Debian Binaries I downloaded the source and was going to compile it!! No problem for me as it's my job ...sorta.. !

Any way I start off the make and all sorts of errors. Now I sorted it because I had a little understanding (all the Header files were in capitols not lower case as in the actual source code!!)

Now this is a real *DUMB* error a school boy would make and quite obviously they have never used the source in this form to create the libraries.

<Johnny>

I have now compiled them on both my desktop and Roboard but i have 12volts powering the Roboard at the moment from out of a hard drive molex connector and it will kill any servo I have ;(

Must now wait until the weekend to test it but at least it now "looks" good!!

John
ProblemChild offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:02 pm

Post by roboard » Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:39 am

Post by roboard
Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:39 am

ProblemChild wrote:Any way I start off the make and all sorts of errors. Now I sorted it because I had a little understanding (all the Header files were in capitols not lower case as in the actual source code!!)


Hi, John,

do you mean the RoBoIO library? We really make its Debain binary directly from the source on Debain 4.0.

The corresponding makefile for Debian 4.0 is Make.LINUX, and the Debian user can type "make -f Make.LINUX" to compile the RoBoIO. :)
ProblemChild wrote:Any way I start off the make and all sorts of errors. Now I sorted it because I had a little understanding (all the Header files were in capitols not lower case as in the actual source code!!)


Hi, John,

do you mean the RoBoIO library? We really make its Debain binary directly from the source on Debain 4.0.

The corresponding makefile for Debian 4.0 is Make.LINUX, and the Debian user can type "make -f Make.LINUX" to compile the RoBoIO. :)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by ProblemChild » Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:08 pm

Post by ProblemChild
Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:08 pm

Downloaded 1.5b earlier this week and dis that build.
Fundamentally the file names are in Capitals and are referred to in Lower-case so it's not going to happen with out a little massaging of the file names regardless to whether it's me/you or Superman doing the compilation.

Ether way once this is done it appears to compile ok I shall play with it later on.

John
Downloaded 1.5b earlier this week and dis that build.
Fundamentally the file names are in Capitals and are referred to in Lower-case so it's not going to happen with out a little massaging of the file names regardless to whether it's me/you or Superman doing the compilation.

Ether way once this is done it appears to compile ok I shall play with it later on.

John
ProblemChild offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:02 pm

Post by winchy_matt » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:17 am

Post by winchy_matt
Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:17 am

I have made some progress with the RoBoard and the supplied ghost Linux image, I have started a thread in my own forum, mostly so that I can keep track of my own progress, being a newbie to Linux, I have to write everything down.. or may that's just age :shock:

I did manage to get the boot time down to 10sec. just by tweaking bios etc.. more info here: http://hexapodrobot.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=352&start=0
I have made some progress with the RoBoard and the supplied ghost Linux image, I have started a thread in my own forum, mostly so that I can keep track of my own progress, being a newbie to Linux, I have to write everything down.. or may that's just age :shock:

I did manage to get the boot time down to 10sec. just by tweaking bios etc.. more info here: http://hexapodrobot.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=352&start=0
winchy_matt offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:00 am

Post by ProblemChild » Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:59 am

Post by ProblemChild
Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:59 am

Good Post ... It's a pritty. It aint 10 seconds from power on but a great improvement none the less!!

Maybe we should Just get the RN to plug it's self in and be powered up 24x7 ;)


WARNNING----ROBOT Is ONLINE !! ;)
Good Post ... It's a pritty. It aint 10 seconds from power on but a great improvement none the less!!

Maybe we should Just get the RN to plug it's self in and be powered up 24x7 ;)


WARNNING----ROBOT Is ONLINE !! ;)
ProblemChild offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:02 pm

Post by winchy_matt » Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

Post by winchy_matt
Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:04 am

ProblemChild wrote:Good Post ... It's a pritty. It aint 10 seconds from power on but a great improvement none the less!!


It is 10 sec from power on! :)
ProblemChild wrote:Good Post ... It's a pritty. It aint 10 seconds from power on but a great improvement none the less!!


It is 10 sec from power on! :)
winchy_matt offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:00 am

Post by ProblemChild » Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:13 am

Post by ProblemChild
Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:13 am

Coolio ;)

Unfortunately I'm been a smart $$$$ and want to run the compiler etc on the ROBOard so I'll pay in boot up times /memory usage.

Did you use the Supplied Libs for the LED Test program or hit the hardware directly?

I take it that you are still Writing C rather than boding someone elses like me!

Lets have a look at it

Best of luck
John
Coolio ;)

Unfortunately I'm been a smart $$$$ and want to run the compiler etc on the ROBOard so I'll pay in boot up times /memory usage.

Did you use the Supplied Libs for the LED Test program or hit the hardware directly?

I take it that you are still Writing C rather than boding someone elses like me!

Lets have a look at it

Best of luck
John
ProblemChild offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:02 pm

Post by winchy_matt » Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:26 pm

Post by winchy_matt
Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:26 pm

I just wrote my own GPIO code for the LEDs, there are no libs for Linux. I posted the code HERE.
I just wrote my own GPIO code for the LEDs, there are no libs for Linux. I posted the code HERE.
winchy_matt offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:00 am

Post by ProblemChild » Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:59 pm

Post by ProblemChild
Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:59 pm

Very Good Matt ... nice code to the point no pointless messing! Does this run under Linux with the various kernel protection measures .etc etc Or with DOS ??
Very Good Matt ... nice code to the point no pointless messing! Does this run under Linux with the various kernel protection measures .etc etc Or with DOS ??
ProblemChild offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:02 pm

Post by winchy_matt » Wed Aug 12, 2009 4:11 pm

Post by winchy_matt
Wed Aug 12, 2009 4:11 pm

Runs under Linux as root user.
Runs under Linux as root user.
winchy_matt offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:00 am

Previous
Previous
60 postsPage 4 of 41, 2, 3, 4
60 postsPage 4 of 41, 2, 3, 4