Roboard, Window XP Installs....

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
21 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
21 postsPage 2 of 21, 2

Post by sniperscope » Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:56 am

Post by sniperscope
Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:56 am

Hello ries: I pretty much installed following the instructions from the RoBoard site using a 4 gig micro card. I could not get it to work any other way. Right now I'm still working on my Mech project. The weapon systems that came in are going to be cut down a bit to match the size of my bot. Will post pictures as soon as I have something to show.
Regards to all.
Hello ries: I pretty much installed following the instructions from the RoBoard site using a 4 gig micro card. I could not get it to work any other way. Right now I'm still working on my Mech project. The weapon systems that came in are going to be cut down a bit to match the size of my bot. Will post pictures as soon as I have something to show.
Regards to all.
sniperscope offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:58 pm

Post by ries » Sat Aug 08, 2009 1:59 pm

Post by ries
Sat Aug 08, 2009 1:59 pm

Hi Sniperscope,

Thanks for the reply.
I have ordered a roboard and was already trying out how to install windows on a micro sd-card.

I got it bootable but couldn't install windows xp, so i tried nlite os.
For me this tool works better, i could slipstream service pack2, the drivers necessary for my laptop and tweaked the windows version.
With the nlite tool i also burned a bootable cd-rom. I even could install that tweaked version on my laptop.

For the roboard im gonna make a windows xp build with the minimum of tools/drivers/language/keyboard/programs and burn it to a cd. And install it the micro sd-card on the roboard.
Hopefully this approach works for me.

Next is to make a visual studio 2005 program to test the roboard in combination with my KHR-1HV.

Greetings,
Hi Sniperscope,

Thanks for the reply.
I have ordered a roboard and was already trying out how to install windows on a micro sd-card.

I got it bootable but couldn't install windows xp, so i tried nlite os.
For me this tool works better, i could slipstream service pack2, the drivers necessary for my laptop and tweaked the windows version.
With the nlite tool i also burned a bootable cd-rom. I even could install that tweaked version on my laptop.

For the roboard im gonna make a windows xp build with the minimum of tools/drivers/language/keyboard/programs and burn it to a cd. And install it the micro sd-card on the roboard.
Hopefully this approach works for me.

Next is to make a visual studio 2005 program to test the roboard in combination with my KHR-1HV.

Greetings,
ries offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by PedroR » Sat Aug 08, 2009 2:13 pm

Post by PedroR
Sat Aug 08, 2009 2:13 pm

Hi ries

If you are using nLite make sure you use the modified IDE drivers that you can download from our forum.

The original IDE drivers that you download from the DMP website will not work with nLite (you'll get a 0x7B Blue screen when booting for the graphical part of the installation).

To avoid it, please use the drivers we (Robosavvy( have developped and made available on the forum.

Regards
Pedro.
Hi ries

If you are using nLite make sure you use the modified IDE drivers that you can download from our forum.

The original IDE drivers that you download from the DMP website will not work with nLite (you'll get a 0x7B Blue screen when booting for the graphical part of the installation).

To avoid it, please use the drivers we (Robosavvy( have developped and made available on the forum.

Regards
Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by ries » Sat Aug 08, 2009 9:54 pm

Post by ries
Sat Aug 08, 2009 9:54 pm

Hi Pedro, thanks for mentioning it :).
Already put it in the driver section of my installation folder!

Greetings,
Hi Pedro, thanks for mentioning it :).
Already put it in the driver section of my installation folder!

Greetings,
ries offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Netherlands

Blinking Curser

Post by goofylogic98 » Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:50 pm

Post by goofylogic98
Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:50 pm

I still get the blinking curser on black background. Can not get it to boot up.
I still get the blinking curser on black background. Can not get it to boot up.
goofylogic98 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:39 pm

Post by PedroR » Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:38 pm

Post by PedroR
Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:38 pm

The blinking cursor on black background is an issue that has never been observed before...

When are you seeing it?

1) When first booting from CDRom ?
2) Or after completing the first part of the setup, restarting and on the first boot from Hard Drive to continue the installation?


If it's the first then you need to go into the BIOS, and change the USB mode to "Full Speed" (which is v1.1 - 11 mbps).
The Roboard can't boot from CDRoms if you've enabled USB 2.0 in the BIOS.

If it's the second make sure you have the boot order correctly set up on the BIOS.
Make sure the SD card is set as the primary boot device and also, disconnect the USB CDRom drive and any other USB device.


Also the board takes some time to boot. It is an embedded 486 class board so you need to understand it won't run as fast as your superscalar Core 2 processor with quite a few pipelines...
The blinking cursor on black background is an issue that has never been observed before...

When are you seeing it?

1) When first booting from CDRom ?
2) Or after completing the first part of the setup, restarting and on the first boot from Hard Drive to continue the installation?


If it's the first then you need to go into the BIOS, and change the USB mode to "Full Speed" (which is v1.1 - 11 mbps).
The Roboard can't boot from CDRoms if you've enabled USB 2.0 in the BIOS.

If it's the second make sure you have the boot order correctly set up on the BIOS.
Make sure the SD card is set as the primary boot device and also, disconnect the USB CDRom drive and any other USB device.


Also the board takes some time to boot. It is an embedded 486 class board so you need to understand it won't run as fast as your superscalar Core 2 processor with quite a few pipelines...
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Previous
Previous
21 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
21 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
cron