Power Usage?

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1

Power Usage?

Post by JackFlynn » Fri Apr 20, 2012 4:25 pm

Post by JackFlynn
Fri Apr 20, 2012 4:25 pm

Hi Folks, I've been working with a RoboBuilder (Transparent) for the past few weeks. I'm trying to compare the walking action with my own rolling/flipping action. In particular I'm trying to evaluate which one uses more power. Is there any way to do this through the software? Or by calculations knowing the specifications of the motors?

I know that the hacked firmware allows for a voltage reading of the battery but how does this equate to power?

I've spoken to a few friends and the only way we can figure to get a mildly accurate result is to record the current usage in realtime for each action. At the moment I may have to resort to charging the battery and seeing which one kills the robot first; obviously not an answer that is going to give me many figures.

I'd really appreciate any help or advice you guys have.

Thanks,

Flynn
Hi Folks, I've been working with a RoboBuilder (Transparent) for the past few weeks. I'm trying to compare the walking action with my own rolling/flipping action. In particular I'm trying to evaluate which one uses more power. Is there any way to do this through the software? Or by calculations knowing the specifications of the motors?

I know that the hacked firmware allows for a voltage reading of the battery but how does this equate to power?

I've spoken to a few friends and the only way we can figure to get a mildly accurate result is to record the current usage in realtime for each action. At the moment I may have to resort to charging the battery and seeing which one kills the robot first; obviously not an answer that is going to give me many figures.

I'd really appreciate any help or advice you guys have.

Thanks,

Flynn
JackFlynn offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:19 pm

Post by PedroR » Wed May 02, 2012 3:28 pm

Post by PedroR
Wed May 02, 2012 3:28 pm

Hi Jack

A good and reliable way of checking this is by measuring the batteyr voltage with a multimeter.

Let's say you charge the Robot, measure the Voltage with the Multimeter and run your motion 3 or 4 times. Then measure the battery voltage again with the multimeter.

Repeat the procedure for the standard motions.


While there is the possibility of getting a battery reading with the custom firmware, I would recommend using a multimeter for more accurate results.

It's a simple yet effective solution I believe.

Kind Regards
Pedro.
Hi Jack

A good and reliable way of checking this is by measuring the batteyr voltage with a multimeter.

Let's say you charge the Robot, measure the Voltage with the Multimeter and run your motion 3 or 4 times. Then measure the battery voltage again with the multimeter.

Repeat the procedure for the standard motions.


While there is the possibility of getting a battery reading with the custom firmware, I would recommend using a multimeter for more accurate results.

It's a simple yet effective solution I believe.

Kind Regards
Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm


2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1
cron