keyence sensor

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1

keyence sensor

Post by Superman » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:36 am

Post by Superman
Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:36 am

Hi all. Do anyone know how can i connect my keyence sensor to my robobuilder ?
Hi all. Do anyone know how can i connect my keyence sensor to my robobuilder ?
Superman offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:32 am

Post by PedroR » Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:04 pm

Post by PedroR
Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:04 pm

Could you please provide some more specific details about what type o sensor it is and also what is the interface?

There are a couple of ways of doing this but it would be important to know the Sensor type and Sensor interface (and also what you want the robot to do in response to the sensor) to be able to give you some pointers.

Regards
Pedro.
Could you please provide some more specific details about what type o sensor it is and also what is the interface?

There are a couple of ways of doing this but it would be important to know the Sensor type and Sensor interface (and also what you want the robot to do in response to the sensor) to be able to give you some pointers.

Regards
Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by i-Bot » Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:07 pm

Post by i-Bot
Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:07 pm

You need to tell us which Keyence sensor you are wanting to connect. Is it digital or analog ?

Also do you want to use standard Robobuilder Software and firmware ?

Interfaces on the Robobuilder are limited, but you might be able use the distance sensor port or the IO ports on the wCK.
You need to tell us which Keyence sensor you are wanting to connect. Is it digital or analog ?

Also do you want to use standard Robobuilder Software and firmware ?

Interfaces on the Robobuilder are limited, but you might be able use the distance sensor port or the IO ports on the wCK.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Superman » Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:17 am

Post by Superman
Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:17 am

keyence photoelectric sensor (PZ2-42P). I'm using AVR studio 4. I'm doing a project on this robobuilder. My objective is to use the sensor to detect a reflective tape so that my robobuilder can walk and follow the reflective tape. The problem is that i not quite sure on how to establish a communication between my robobuilder and the sensor.
keyence photoelectric sensor (PZ2-42P). I'm using AVR studio 4. I'm doing a project on this robobuilder. My objective is to use the sensor to detect a reflective tape so that my robobuilder can walk and follow the reflective tape. The problem is that i not quite sure on how to establish a communication between my robobuilder and the sensor.
Superman offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:32 am

Post by Superman » Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:21 am

Post by Superman
Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:21 am

and another alternative is to use computer vision sensor Havimo 2.0.
and another alternative is to use computer vision sensor Havimo 2.0.
Superman offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:32 am

Post by i-Bot » Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:05 pm

Post by i-Bot
Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:05 pm

Do you already have the Keyence sensor(s) ?

The first challenge with these industrial sensors is they use a 12V supply, so you need to boost the battery voltage from the RBC controller. You can build a boost regulator circuit to do this or use something like this:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-5-28V-1-25-26V-DC-DC-Converter-Boost-Buck-Step-Up-Step-Down-Voltage-Module-/290638795392?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET&hash=item43ab6c1280

If you are line tracking, are you using two sensors to detect the line on both sides ? If so you need two inputs.

You have also chosen the PNP output version which pulls the output up to 12 V. The RBC and wCK only accepts voltages up to 5V, so a voltage divider is required.
Power the PZ2-42P from the boost converter, connecting the ground(blue), also to the RBC ground.

Black output of PZ2 -> 10K resistor -> RCB input -> 4K7 resistor -> ground. RCB can be the distance sensor input, or the analog input on a WCK. Two sensors can be configured with different resistors to give different voltage levels when each or both sensors are activated. Measure the voltage(distance) to determine if sensor is triggered.

By using the standard inputs this can be checked out before you embark on any AtMega programming.
Do you already have the Keyence sensor(s) ?

The first challenge with these industrial sensors is they use a 12V supply, so you need to boost the battery voltage from the RBC controller. You can build a boost regulator circuit to do this or use something like this:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-5-28V-1-25-26V-DC-DC-Converter-Boost-Buck-Step-Up-Step-Down-Voltage-Module-/290638795392?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET&hash=item43ab6c1280

If you are line tracking, are you using two sensors to detect the line on both sides ? If so you need two inputs.

You have also chosen the PNP output version which pulls the output up to 12 V. The RBC and wCK only accepts voltages up to 5V, so a voltage divider is required.
Power the PZ2-42P from the boost converter, connecting the ground(blue), also to the RBC ground.

Black output of PZ2 -> 10K resistor -> RCB input -> 4K7 resistor -> ground. RCB can be the distance sensor input, or the analog input on a WCK. Two sensors can be configured with different resistors to give different voltage levels when each or both sensors are activated. Measure the voltage(distance) to determine if sensor is triggered.

By using the standard inputs this can be checked out before you embark on any AtMega programming.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am


6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1