[Walking] C code for walking(ZMP)

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1

[Walking] C code for walking(ZMP)

Post by elikpr » Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:45 am

Post by elikpr
Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:45 am

HI Community,

I want to study C code of simple walking where ZMP(Zero Moment Point) used. Can anybody give me the code? Or any advice....

Thank you
HI Community,

I want to study C code of simple walking where ZMP(Zero Moment Point) used. Can anybody give me the code? Or any advice....

Thank you
elikpr offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:30 pm

Post by i-Bot » Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:16 pm

Post by i-Bot
Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:16 pm

It is unlikely you will find walking code for Robobuilder using ZMP. The only walking code I found using ZMP is part of the UPenn DARwin code:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/darwino ... p/download

Look in /player/motion/walk.lua. It is written in LUA, but fairly easy to read and convert to C. LUA variables are floating point by default.

Look at the tutorial to get some background:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/darwino ... f/download

To compare DARwin to Robobuillder joint layout:
http://robosavvy.com/site/index.php?opt ... 1&Itemid=2

You don't say what processor you use, you are best with a pretty fast processor and FPU for ZMP. How far did you get already without ZMP. Are you using an existing gait generator and adding ZMP for stability ?
It is unlikely you will find walking code for Robobuilder using ZMP. The only walking code I found using ZMP is part of the UPenn DARwin code:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/darwino ... p/download

Look in /player/motion/walk.lua. It is written in LUA, but fairly easy to read and convert to C. LUA variables are floating point by default.

Look at the tutorial to get some background:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/darwino ... f/download

To compare DARwin to Robobuillder joint layout:
http://robosavvy.com/site/index.php?opt ... 1&Itemid=2

You don't say what processor you use, you are best with a pretty fast processor and FPU for ZMP. How far did you get already without ZMP. Are you using an existing gait generator and adding ZMP for stability ?
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by elikpr » Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:57 am

Post by elikpr
Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:57 am

Actually I want robot to imitate human. While imitating robot should keep balance and should not fall down. I thought applying ZMP can solve my problem. if I add ZMP to the existing gait generator Robot wont be able to immitate, right?!!
If you have any idea or suggestion, I would be very grateful.

Thank you
Actually I want robot to imitate human. While imitating robot should keep balance and should not fall down. I thought applying ZMP can solve my problem. if I add ZMP to the existing gait generator Robot wont be able to immitate, right?!!
If you have any idea or suggestion, I would be very grateful.

Thank you
elikpr offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:30 pm

Post by i-Bot » Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:00 am

Post by i-Bot
Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:00 am

I want robot to imitate human


This is not very specific. Is there an existing hobby or professional humanoid which you consider achieves this ?

If you want to imitate human walking you should be first invesigating gait generators.
I want robot to imitate human


This is not very specific. Is there an existing hobby or professional humanoid which you consider achieves this ?

If you want to imitate human walking you should be first invesigating gait generators.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am


4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1