Any way to test bluetooth board?

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
12 postsPage 1 of 1
12 postsPage 1 of 1

Any way to test bluetooth board?

Post by ingeniado » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:25 pm

Post by ingeniado
Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:25 pm

Hello,
a few months ago, I did install the bluetooth board and everything was OK.
I've been some weeks without using bluetooth. Today, I've tried to communicate with the unit but I can't find it as a bluetooth device :?:
I've checked the board assembling and it's ok.
So.. any way to test it? (in Diagnostic tool there is no option)

regards.
Hello,
a few months ago, I did install the bluetooth board and everything was OK.
I've been some weeks without using bluetooth. Today, I've tried to communicate with the unit but I can't find it as a bluetooth device :?:
I've checked the board assembling and it's ok.
So.. any way to test it? (in Diagnostic tool there is no option)

regards.
ingeniado offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by PedroR » Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:26 pm

Post by PedroR
Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:26 pm

Hi Ingeniado

The Diagnostics tool does not include a way to test the Bluetooth module.

The best way to test if the BT module is working propperly is by removing the COMM cable that connects to the computer (in case it's connected), turning on the Robot and then on your PC, do a search for nearby Bluetooth devices.

The Robobuilder should show up. You should also be able to connect to it. It will create a Bluetooth SPP (Serial port) profile.

A new COMM port appears in your computer when it's connected to Robobuilder via Bluetooth.

You can also try searching for the BT module on Robobuilder using different computers or your mobile phone as well (most mobile phones support BT SPP profile as well).

If after this, you still can't find the BT module then it may be disconfigured/misconfigured. However this situation is highly unlikelly.

Let us know how your tests turned out.

Regards
Pedro.
Hi Ingeniado

The Diagnostics tool does not include a way to test the Bluetooth module.

The best way to test if the BT module is working propperly is by removing the COMM cable that connects to the computer (in case it's connected), turning on the Robot and then on your PC, do a search for nearby Bluetooth devices.

The Robobuilder should show up. You should also be able to connect to it. It will create a Bluetooth SPP (Serial port) profile.

A new COMM port appears in your computer when it's connected to Robobuilder via Bluetooth.

You can also try searching for the BT module on Robobuilder using different computers or your mobile phone as well (most mobile phones support BT SPP profile as well).

If after this, you still can't find the BT module then it may be disconfigured/misconfigured. However this situation is highly unlikelly.

Let us know how your tests turned out.

Regards
Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by ingeniado » Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:22 pm

Post by ingeniado
Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:22 pm

Hi Pedro,
thanks for you reply.

I'd tried these tests yesterday, but were unsuccessful. :?
I've tried with my phone too, but it can't find any device.

I think that the bluetooth board has died :(
Hi Pedro,
thanks for you reply.

I'd tried these tests yesterday, but were unsuccessful. :?
I've tried with my phone too, but it can't find any device.

I think that the bluetooth board has died :(
ingeniado offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by PedroR » Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:18 pm

Post by PedroR
Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:18 pm

Hi Ingeniado

The board _may_ have died but it would be first one I see dead...

Before declaring it dead, if you have access to a USB to TTL adapter I would reccommend that you try to connect the module to your computer (using the USB2TTL adapter) and Run the PARANI configuration software to see if the module responds.

The module is a standard PARANI ESD200 Bluetooth module.

Those modules can operate in 3 modes: to work with Robobuilder they come pre programmed for MODE 3, which is always discoverable and accepts connection from ALL devices.

The module may have lost this configuration and be in a different mode. Hence my suggestion: if you have access to a USB to TTL serial adapter (do note this Parani modules is 3.3V!) you can try to reprogram it to mode 3 using the Parani software.

Datasheet http://www.sena.com/download/datasheet/ ... ni_esd.pdf
You can also find the Management software on the product page http://www.sena.com/products/industrial ... th/esd.php

Otherwise, if it still doesn't work than it may be indeed faulty.

Regards
Pdro.
Hi Ingeniado

The board _may_ have died but it would be first one I see dead...

Before declaring it dead, if you have access to a USB to TTL adapter I would reccommend that you try to connect the module to your computer (using the USB2TTL adapter) and Run the PARANI configuration software to see if the module responds.

The module is a standard PARANI ESD200 Bluetooth module.

Those modules can operate in 3 modes: to work with Robobuilder they come pre programmed for MODE 3, which is always discoverable and accepts connection from ALL devices.

The module may have lost this configuration and be in a different mode. Hence my suggestion: if you have access to a USB to TTL serial adapter (do note this Parani modules is 3.3V!) you can try to reprogram it to mode 3 using the Parani software.

Datasheet http://www.sena.com/download/datasheet/ ... ni_esd.pdf
You can also find the Management software on the product page http://www.sena.com/products/industrial ... th/esd.php

Otherwise, if it still doesn't work than it may be indeed faulty.

Regards
Pdro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by ingeniado » Tue Apr 12, 2011 10:18 pm

Post by ingeniado
Tue Apr 12, 2011 10:18 pm

Hi Pedro,

thanks very much for sharing your knowledge.
I've downloaded the software and I think I could obtain a 3v USB to TTL adapter.
Image
I have a basic (super-basic) question: as I can see, the TTL adapter has 6 pins, and I don't have a clue of how to connect the ESD200 module with the TTL adapter :?:

thanks in advance.
Hi Pedro,

thanks very much for sharing your knowledge.
I've downloaded the software and I think I could obtain a 3v USB to TTL adapter.
Image
I have a basic (super-basic) question: as I can see, the TTL adapter has 6 pins, and I don't have a clue of how to connect the ESD200 module with the TTL adapter :?:

thanks in advance.
ingeniado offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by robosavvy » Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:11 am

Post by robosavvy
Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:11 am

Hi

For this task I believe your best companion will be this manual http://www.sena.com/download/manual/man ... v1.1.6.pdf

I reccomend you start by having a look at page 30.

. You need to connect GND, Power (3.3V) and then:
. BT RX -> PC TX
. BT TX -> PC RX
. BT CTS -> PC RTS
. BT RTS -> PC CTS
(if you don't want to connect RTS and CTS to the PC, then just conect the BT CTS to GND. See page 34 of the manual above for details on this connection).

. The DCD pin seems to be for status only so don't connect it to anything.

. Finally, I think the RST pin is to be left un connected (floating) (or connected to 3.3V). I'm not sure but I seem to recall one of the pins should be left un connected. I think it's this one.

If you want to restore the ESD 200 to factory default settings (something I recommend), then you need to connect RST to GND I think (again see page 30).

I also recommend you have a look at page 13 and and beyond which explain the different modes in which the module can operate. It also explains how to connect to the module and use the software.


As for your cable, I see you have attached a picture, but it's one that I've never seen and hence don't have the schematics for it.
You'll need to find the schematics for your cable and once you do you should be able to figure out which pin is what (PC RX, TX, etc.)

You may end up with - still - a non working module but at least you'll have an adventure to talk about ;)

In any case, I still think your Parani may be misconfigured or reset to factory defaults (see page 13).

It needs to be set to MODE 3, Baud Rate 115kbps, No parity, 1 Stop Bit. Instructions on how it must be configured can be found here http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/Rob ... etooth.pdf

Pedro.
Hi

For this task I believe your best companion will be this manual http://www.sena.com/download/manual/man ... v1.1.6.pdf

I reccomend you start by having a look at page 30.

. You need to connect GND, Power (3.3V) and then:
. BT RX -> PC TX
. BT TX -> PC RX
. BT CTS -> PC RTS
. BT RTS -> PC CTS
(if you don't want to connect RTS and CTS to the PC, then just conect the BT CTS to GND. See page 34 of the manual above for details on this connection).

. The DCD pin seems to be for status only so don't connect it to anything.

. Finally, I think the RST pin is to be left un connected (floating) (or connected to 3.3V). I'm not sure but I seem to recall one of the pins should be left un connected. I think it's this one.

If you want to restore the ESD 200 to factory default settings (something I recommend), then you need to connect RST to GND I think (again see page 30).

I also recommend you have a look at page 13 and and beyond which explain the different modes in which the module can operate. It also explains how to connect to the module and use the software.


As for your cable, I see you have attached a picture, but it's one that I've never seen and hence don't have the schematics for it.
You'll need to find the schematics for your cable and once you do you should be able to figure out which pin is what (PC RX, TX, etc.)

You may end up with - still - a non working module but at least you'll have an adventure to talk about ;)

In any case, I still think your Parani may be misconfigured or reset to factory defaults (see page 13).

It needs to be set to MODE 3, Baud Rate 115kbps, No parity, 1 Stop Bit. Instructions on how it must be configured can be found here http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/Rob ... etooth.pdf

Pedro.
robosavvy offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:00 am

Post by ingeniado » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:54 am

Post by ingeniado
Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:54 am

Thanks again, Pedro.

I'll try it and post results (if I don't need your know-how again :wink: ).
And.. yes, probably would be faster (and cheaper?) buying another bluetooth board but.. it wouldn't be so funny! :D

regards
Thanks again, Pedro.

I'll try it and post results (if I don't need your know-how again :wink: ).
And.. yes, probably would be faster (and cheaper?) buying another bluetooth board but.. it wouldn't be so funny! :D

regards
ingeniado offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:33 pm

no success

Post by ingeniado » Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:34 pm

Post by ingeniado
Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:34 pm

Hi,

after 1 month (my parcel was returned due to incorrect address :evil:) I have received the TTL cable.
I've tried to connect it with ParaniWin software but It seem that no board was connected (however, the board got very hot). I tried with Flow Control and no Flow Control.
I don't know if I'd to have connected the BT RST to VCC, I didn't it.
I also tried to RESET the board with the RST pin, but after installing the board again in my Robobuilder, I can't discover the BT module with any device.

I think the board is definitely died.
Thanks very much Pedro for your support, now I have something to talk about :D

regards.
MA
Hi,

after 1 month (my parcel was returned due to incorrect address :evil:) I have received the TTL cable.
I've tried to connect it with ParaniWin software but It seem that no board was connected (however, the board got very hot). I tried with Flow Control and no Flow Control.
I don't know if I'd to have connected the BT RST to VCC, I didn't it.
I also tried to RESET the board with the RST pin, but after installing the board again in my Robobuilder, I can't discover the BT module with any device.

I think the board is definitely died.
Thanks very much Pedro for your support, now I have something to talk about :D

regards.
MA
ingeniado offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by i-Bot » Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:02 am

Post by i-Bot
Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:02 am

Did you power the bluetooth from the cable ? Many of the cables which have 3.3V signal levels actually have the VCC output at 5V and you need a regulator down to 3.3 if you use this to power the module.

Reset just needs quick connection to gnd to reset, nothing else.
Did you power the bluetooth from the cable ? Many of the cables which have 3.3V signal levels actually have the VCC output at 5V and you need a regulator down to 3.3 if you use this to power the module.

Reset just needs quick connection to gnd to reset, nothing else.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by ingeniado » Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:35 pm

Post by ingeniado
Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:35 pm

hi,

mmm.. the cable specifications says that the VCC output is 3.3V, however, I haven't tested it...
I also tried the reset with a quick connection (10 sec) to gnd..

so, I think the board has died :(
perhaps due to a hard fall?

regards.
hi,

mmm.. the cable specifications says that the VCC output is 3.3V, however, I haven't tested it...
I also tried the reset with a quick connection (10 sec) to gnd..

so, I think the board has died :(
perhaps due to a hard fall?

regards.
ingeniado offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by khz » Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:20 pm

Post by khz
Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:20 pm

Hi.
I have a BT module behaving - stopped working - exactly the same way.
/KHz
Hi.
I have a BT module behaving - stopped working - exactly the same way.
/KHz
khz offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:12 pm

Post by ingeniado » Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:16 am

Post by ingeniado
Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:16 am

Hi,

I wish you luck. I was unlucky and couldn't revive the board. :(
Hi,

I wish you luck. I was unlucky and couldn't revive the board. :(
ingeniado offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:33 pm


12 postsPage 1 of 1
12 postsPage 1 of 1
cron