Strange accuracy of distance sensor

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

Strange accuracy of distance sensor

Post by ingeniado » Sat Nov 20, 2010 1:03 pm

Post by ingeniado
Sat Nov 20, 2010 1:03 pm

Hi everybody,

this is my first post in this Forum.
I bought Robobuilder 5720 the last week and I'm trying some action scripts. This is my first robot and I am very satisfied with it.

I've found a strange behavior in distance sensor: if I monitor the values of distance sensor (in the log window in MSRDS) I can see that it's accurate, but it is not able to detect distance smaller than 11 cm, it show everytime 10cm in distance smaller than 11cm. I think is the minimum distance that the distance sensor can detect (or my unit is not ok)

Isn't it :?:

Regards.
Miguel A.
Hi everybody,

this is my first post in this Forum.
I bought Robobuilder 5720 the last week and I'm trying some action scripts. This is my first robot and I am very satisfied with it.

I've found a strange behavior in distance sensor: if I monitor the values of distance sensor (in the log window in MSRDS) I can see that it's accurate, but it is not able to detect distance smaller than 11 cm, it show everytime 10cm in distance smaller than 11cm. I think is the minimum distance that the distance sensor can detect (or my unit is not ok)

Isn't it :?:

Regards.
Miguel A.
ingeniado offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by l3v3rz » Sun Nov 21, 2010 4:31 pm

Post by l3v3rz
Sun Nov 21, 2010 4:31 pm

Thats correct, the limit of the accuracy of the sensor its self. I think the sensors range is 10-80cm generating an analogue output voltage that the software converts this into values between 10-50 .

Have a read of the C tutorial pg 55 for more details

http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/Rob ... Source.zip
Thats correct, the limit of the accuracy of the sensor its self. I think the sensors range is 10-80cm generating an analogue output voltage that the software converts this into values between 10-50 .

Have a read of the C tutorial pg 55 for more details

http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/Rob ... Source.zip
l3v3rz offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:34 pm

Post by ingeniado » Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:23 am

Post by ingeniado
Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:23 am

Thank you very much for the reply, l3v3rz.

I can read in the tutorial:

"Distance = 27.5 / ( ( 5 * AD result value ) / 1024 )
This has included a little tolerance. But this is to judge the object detection, not a distance measure. Therefore, you can use from 15cm to 45cm distance without problem.
"

regards.
Miguel A.
Thank you very much for the reply, l3v3rz.

I can read in the tutorial:

"Distance = 27.5 / ( ( 5 * AD result value ) / 1024 )
This has included a little tolerance. But this is to judge the object detection, not a distance measure. Therefore, you can use from 15cm to 45cm distance without problem.
"

regards.
Miguel A.
ingeniado offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:33 pm


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1
cron