synchronising sound with movements

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1

synchronising sound with movements

Post by kirsty » Thu May 06, 2010 7:34 pm

Post by kirsty
Thu May 06, 2010 7:34 pm

hi,
i am new to working with robobuilder, i have a 5710K and would like to synchronise movements with my own sound files.
i've found the list of the 25 sounds detailed in the rbc serial protocol documentation. i've also found an example in the microsoft robotics dev studio user guide.
can anyone suggest a simple way to do this?
am i right in thinking that to replace the 25 default sounds i would have to edit the firmware? it's just that i would still like to use motion/actionbuilder software..
thank you-
kirsty
hi,
i am new to working with robobuilder, i have a 5710K and would like to synchronise movements with my own sound files.
i've found the list of the 25 sounds detailed in the rbc serial protocol documentation. i've also found an example in the microsoft robotics dev studio user guide.
can anyone suggest a simple way to do this?
am i right in thinking that to replace the 25 default sounds i would have to edit the firmware? it's just that i would still like to use motion/actionbuilder software..
thank you-
kirsty
kirsty offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:20 am

Post by badcommandorfilename » Mon May 10, 2010 2:33 am

Post by badcommandorfilename
Mon May 10, 2010 2:33 am

There is certianly no interface to do this in any of the moltion/actionbuilder software, so unless there is a hidden protocol to download it to the RBC brick I think you will need to modify the firmware.

The RBC is actually very hackable, you should be able to use avr-gcc and avrlibc to compile the sample robobuilder firmware and make a few quick changes to the way that sounds are played (if you can decipher their source :P ). And don't worry about bricking your brick - you can easily restore the old firmware using the RBC firmware upgrade tool. All the documentation is here.

--------------
http://buildtherobot.blogspot.com/ - A site about Robobuilder and humanoid robotics
There is certianly no interface to do this in any of the moltion/actionbuilder software, so unless there is a hidden protocol to download it to the RBC brick I think you will need to modify the firmware.

The RBC is actually very hackable, you should be able to use avr-gcc and avrlibc to compile the sample robobuilder firmware and make a few quick changes to the way that sounds are played (if you can decipher their source :P ). And don't worry about bricking your brick - you can easily restore the old firmware using the RBC firmware upgrade tool. All the documentation is here.

--------------
http://buildtherobot.blogspot.com/ - A site about Robobuilder and humanoid robotics
badcommandorfilename offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:34 am

Post by l3v3rz » Wed May 12, 2010 12:27 pm

Post by l3v3rz
Wed May 12, 2010 12:27 pm

I don't believe this its possible even in firmware as the sound chip seems to only supports pre-defined sounds. (does anyone have details on the chip?)

Certainly the controller spec also suggest this-

http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info ... f57324c2cd

The sound chip is controlled by the CPU using wck bus.

However, there is a direct output from the CPU - PWMSND (port E/3) - (volume control?) which I presume means you could build your own sound routines in firmware - from the ground up. May be ;)
I don't believe this its possible even in firmware as the sound chip seems to only supports pre-defined sounds. (does anyone have details on the chip?)

Certainly the controller spec also suggest this-

http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info ... f57324c2cd

The sound chip is controlled by the CPU using wck bus.

However, there is a direct output from the CPU - PWMSND (port E/3) - (volume control?) which I presume means you could build your own sound routines in firmware - from the ground up. May be ;)
l3v3rz offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:34 pm

Post by l3v3rz » Mon May 24, 2010 8:14 pm

Post by l3v3rz
Mon May 24, 2010 8:14 pm

Looking the firmware - i think the sound chip is a BMC504

http://www.synoos.co.kr/03_voice/materi ... synoos.pdf

This is based on the 8051 CPU it has 4Mb of Flash for sound storage - and is designed for both voice recording and sound output - so it may well be possible to upload wav files into the flash for playback via the serial bus. The sounds that come with it though must be pre-configured as the firmware doesn't upload them as far as I can see.
Looking the firmware - i think the sound chip is a BMC504

http://www.synoos.co.kr/03_voice/materi ... synoos.pdf

This is based on the 8051 CPU it has 4Mb of Flash for sound storage - and is designed for both voice recording and sound output - so it may well be possible to upload wav files into the flash for playback via the serial bus. The sounds that come with it though must be pre-configured as the firmware doesn't upload them as far as I can see.
l3v3rz offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:34 pm


4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1
cron