Bluetooth Module

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
23 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
23 postsPage 1 of 21, 2

Bluetooth Module

Post by Rift » Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:33 am

Post by Rift
Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:33 am

Hey all Iv been browsing these forums for awhile now but never did register but this seems to be the most active community on this humanoid that I can find. So naturally i figured this would be the best place to post my question.

I just recently came into possession of the bluetooth module for this robot. Except my module is a little different then the one listed here.

My bluetooth adapter came with the module that solders onto the Robobuilder board, and then there is a base station which has an identical bluetooth module on it which then plugs into power and the serial connection cable that comes with Robobuilder. The base station also has 4 servo ports on it.

The problem I'm having is how can I pare Robobuilder with the bluetooth that is on my computer rather then use this base station. With the base station I can get it to work fine along with the Serial to USB converter. But I would much rather eliminate the need to have all these extra wires and the extra board.

For some reason I can't get my bluetooth dongle to find the chip on Robobuilder. Is there a special way to pare these or am I just totally missing something?

The bluetooth dongle I'm using in my computer is this one
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

Any help is greatly appreciated I will continue to fiddle with this and see if I can get it to work.

Rift
Hey all Iv been browsing these forums for awhile now but never did register but this seems to be the most active community on this humanoid that I can find. So naturally i figured this would be the best place to post my question.

I just recently came into possession of the bluetooth module for this robot. Except my module is a little different then the one listed here.

My bluetooth adapter came with the module that solders onto the Robobuilder board, and then there is a base station which has an identical bluetooth module on it which then plugs into power and the serial connection cable that comes with Robobuilder. The base station also has 4 servo ports on it.

The problem I'm having is how can I pare Robobuilder with the bluetooth that is on my computer rather then use this base station. With the base station I can get it to work fine along with the Serial to USB converter. But I would much rather eliminate the need to have all these extra wires and the extra board.

For some reason I can't get my bluetooth dongle to find the chip on Robobuilder. Is there a special way to pare these or am I just totally missing something?

The bluetooth dongle I'm using in my computer is this one
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

Any help is greatly appreciated I will continue to fiddle with this and see if I can get it to work.

Rift
Rift offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:25 am

Post by i-Bot » Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:26 am

Post by i-Bot
Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:26 am

I am guessing you have this setup:
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/Gui ... OTHCOM.pdf

I have not seen one, but it does appear to use the same bluetooth module as we use with USB dongle. However it looks like the modules are preconfigured to pair only together.

The module should be a plug in on both ends, and it is the one inside the controller that needs changing.

I use the software here to configure:
http://www.sena.com/download/software/s ... v2.0.1.exe

You would configure on the serial board first. It may need a reset to the module, but I don't know how this is done on your board.

Check the previous bluetooth posts here about the module setup for pairing.

I cannot be sure that the module will work after in original setup, so at your own risk !
I am guessing you have this setup:
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/Gui ... OTHCOM.pdf

I have not seen one, but it does appear to use the same bluetooth module as we use with USB dongle. However it looks like the modules are preconfigured to pair only together.

The module should be a plug in on both ends, and it is the one inside the controller that needs changing.

I use the software here to configure:
http://www.sena.com/download/software/s ... v2.0.1.exe

You would configure on the serial board first. It may need a reset to the module, but I don't know how this is done on your board.

Check the previous bluetooth posts here about the module setup for pairing.

I cannot be sure that the module will work after in original setup, so at your own risk !
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Rift » Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:26 pm

Post by Rift
Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:26 pm

Yep that's the kit I have and they are indeed pre pared.

Iv run into a new snag now where I upgraded the firmware on RoboBuilder and I can no longer connect with even that setup. So bluetooth is just entirely dead now.

Ill check out that software thoroughly before I attempt to make any changes. Right now I'm trying to understand why the bluetooth no longer works at all.

Rift
Yep that's the kit I have and they are indeed pre pared.

Iv run into a new snag now where I upgraded the firmware on RoboBuilder and I can no longer connect with even that setup. So bluetooth is just entirely dead now.

Ill check out that software thoroughly before I attempt to make any changes. Right now I'm trying to understand why the bluetooth no longer works at all.

Rift
Rift offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:25 am

Post by Rift » Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:32 pm

Post by Rift
Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:32 pm

Just found this post with Pedros explenation

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... =bluetooth

Gonna give this a try later tonight hopefully it will solve my issues.

Rift
Just found this post with Pedros explenation

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... =bluetooth

Gonna give this a try later tonight hopefully it will solve my issues.

Rift
Rift offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:25 am

control on the pc the module bluetooth

Post by Atom182Fr » Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:22 am

Post by Atom182Fr
Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:22 am

Hi everyone .. !
Excuse me for my English I am French. I'd like to know how to control his Robobuilder with the bluetooth module on his computer.? I buy an Xbox 360 controller that works on my pc .. I'd like to know if there is a software that can handle the bluetooth module on pc and thereby to control the robot.

thank you to you ..:wink:
Hi everyone .. !
Excuse me for my English I am French. I'd like to know how to control his Robobuilder with the bluetooth module on his computer.? I buy an Xbox 360 controller that works on my pc .. I'd like to know if there is a software that can handle the bluetooth module on pc and thereby to control the robot.

thank you to you ..:wink:
Atom182Fr offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:10 am

Post by PedroR » Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:43 pm

Post by PedroR
Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:43 pm

Hi

If the Xbox 360 controller is recognized by your PC as a normal joystick then you may be able to use the software available here http://robosavvy.com/Builders/PedroR/Jo ... upport.zip

It is a test software used to control Robobuilder using a PC joystick/gamepad.

Make sure you set one of the buttons to "STOP" because you always need to press stop first to initialize the robot (the equivalent to the red button on the Robobuilder Remote).

The forum thread is available here http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=18813#18813

Pedro.
Hi

If the Xbox 360 controller is recognized by your PC as a normal joystick then you may be able to use the software available here http://robosavvy.com/Builders/PedroR/Jo ... upport.zip

It is a test software used to control Robobuilder using a PC joystick/gamepad.

Make sure you set one of the buttons to "STOP" because you always need to press stop first to initialize the robot (the equivalent to the red button on the Robobuilder Remote).

The forum thread is available here http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=18813#18813

Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by l3v3rz » Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:00 pm

Post by l3v3rz
Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:00 pm

You can do this in L# (of course !!) And then you can use all the other great stuff - access accelerometer, PSD sensor, make up your own motions etc ... Here's the basic method (code in blue)

Need to reference the Direct X libraries:
(reference "Microsoft.DirectX.DirectInput")
(using "Microsoft.DirectX.DirectInput")


This lists all the devices connected.

(= gl (Manager.GetDevices (DeviceClass.GameControl) (EnumDevicesFlags.AttachedOnly) ))
(each l gl (prn l))


You should see something like this
UsagePage: 1
FFDriverGuid: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000
ProductName: ?
InstanceName: ?
DeviceSubType: 2
DeviceType: Gamepad
ProductGuid: 990207b5-0000-0000-0000-504944564944
InstanceGuid: bcb9fe70-eb3a-11de-8001-444553540000


This picks the top item off the list (I only have 1 joystick)
(= l (car gl))

This creates the Device handle
(= jd (new "Device" (.InstanceGuid l)))

This specifies its a Joystick
(.SetDataFormat jd (DeviceDataFormat.Joystick))

This grabs it for your application
( .Acquire jd)

This lets you see the capabilities
( = cps (.Caps jd))
(prn "axes=" (.NumberAxes cps) "buttons=" (.NumberButtons cps))



This polls the state to see whats changes
(.poll jd)(.CurrentJoystickstate jd)

This displays what buttons have been pressed
(tolist (.getbuttons (.CurrentJoystickstate jd)))


For details on L# see my other post !

Cheers

l3v3rz
You can do this in L# (of course !!) And then you can use all the other great stuff - access accelerometer, PSD sensor, make up your own motions etc ... Here's the basic method (code in blue)

Need to reference the Direct X libraries:
(reference "Microsoft.DirectX.DirectInput")
(using "Microsoft.DirectX.DirectInput")


This lists all the devices connected.

(= gl (Manager.GetDevices (DeviceClass.GameControl) (EnumDevicesFlags.AttachedOnly) ))
(each l gl (prn l))


You should see something like this
UsagePage: 1
FFDriverGuid: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000
ProductName: ?
InstanceName: ?
DeviceSubType: 2
DeviceType: Gamepad
ProductGuid: 990207b5-0000-0000-0000-504944564944
InstanceGuid: bcb9fe70-eb3a-11de-8001-444553540000


This picks the top item off the list (I only have 1 joystick)
(= l (car gl))

This creates the Device handle
(= jd (new "Device" (.InstanceGuid l)))

This specifies its a Joystick
(.SetDataFormat jd (DeviceDataFormat.Joystick))

This grabs it for your application
( .Acquire jd)

This lets you see the capabilities
( = cps (.Caps jd))
(prn "axes=" (.NumberAxes cps) "buttons=" (.NumberButtons cps))



This polls the state to see whats changes
(.poll jd)(.CurrentJoystickstate jd)

This displays what buttons have been pressed
(tolist (.getbuttons (.CurrentJoystickstate jd)))


For details on L# see my other post !

Cheers

l3v3rz
l3v3rz offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:34 pm

Post by Atom182Fr » Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:17 pm

Post by Atom182Fr
Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:17 pm

I purchased the bluetooth module and I have installed. and then I wanted to check my phone and he asked me a code. I am not this code ..

you can help me.? :(
I purchased the bluetooth module and I have installed. and then I wanted to check my phone and he asked me a code. I am not this code ..

you can help me.? :(
Atom182Fr offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:10 am

Post by PedroR » Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:19 pm

Post by PedroR
Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:19 pm

hi atom182

I don't recall the exact code but I know that, if a code is requested, you need to use a DEFAULT code. Please try the following:

- 1234 (I think it is this one)
- 12345
- 0000 (4 zeros)
- 00000 (5 zeros)


I believe the correct code is the first one.

Please let us know if it works.

Regards
Pedro
hi atom182

I don't recall the exact code but I know that, if a code is requested, you need to use a DEFAULT code. Please try the following:

- 1234 (I think it is this one)
- 12345
- 0000 (4 zeros)
- 00000 (5 zeros)


I believe the correct code is the first one.

Please let us know if it works.

Regards
Pedro
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by Atom182Fr » Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:33 pm

Post by Atom182Fr
Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:33 pm

the first code works (1234) thank you for the information pedroR.
but how do you do after to control the robot by the phone ..?
requires software on the phone ..?


thanks
the first code works (1234) thank you for the information pedroR.
but how do you do after to control the robot by the phone ..?
requires software on the phone ..?


thanks
Atom182Fr offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:10 am

Post by PedroR » Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:20 pm

Post by PedroR
Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:20 pm

to control the robot from your phone you will need to write some software on the phone.

The Bluetooth module only offers a comunication channel from the device to the robot.


It is quite easy to write a program to control the robot (similar to the one i wrote for the PS2 joystick).

You just need to follow the protocol available here http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/Rob ... ommand.pdf

In essence you only need to send a sequence of bytes to emulate a Remote Control.
The sequence is always the same (only the last part changes) so it's quite easy to implement.

You can implement it on any device that has Bluetooth (not only your phone) as long as it supports the Serial Port Profile and you can program it to send this sequence of bytes.

Regards
Pedro.
to control the robot from your phone you will need to write some software on the phone.

The Bluetooth module only offers a comunication channel from the device to the robot.


It is quite easy to write a program to control the robot (similar to the one i wrote for the PS2 joystick).

You just need to follow the protocol available here http://robosavvy.com/RoboSavvyPages/Rob ... ommand.pdf

In essence you only need to send a sequence of bytes to emulate a Remote Control.
The sequence is always the same (only the last part changes) so it's quite easy to implement.

You can implement it on any device that has Bluetooth (not only your phone) as long as it supports the Serial Port Profile and you can program it to send this sequence of bytes.

Regards
Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by Atom182Fr » Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:39 pm

Post by Atom182Fr
Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:39 pm

hi guys!:roll:
I will explain my situation: I purchased the bluetooth module for the robot and a key bluetooth dongle v.2 for pc. I'd like to use this equipment to control my Robobuilder by my pc.

I install the module on my robot and the key on my pc. so far so good .. the module works perfectly. that's my problem: when using the software made PedroR to control my robot with my PC, I plug my Xbox controller port and bluetooth robot. and when I do an action, the computer crashes and restarts.:cry:

it may be a problem with windows xp .. or with the key bluetooth dongle v.2. in any event I buy on the site, so I'd like to understand how it works ..

if it has happened, you can help me.??

thank you to you
hi guys!:roll:
I will explain my situation: I purchased the bluetooth module for the robot and a key bluetooth dongle v.2 for pc. I'd like to use this equipment to control my Robobuilder by my pc.

I install the module on my robot and the key on my pc. so far so good .. the module works perfectly. that's my problem: when using the software made PedroR to control my robot with my PC, I plug my Xbox controller port and bluetooth robot. and when I do an action, the computer crashes and restarts.:cry:

it may be a problem with windows xp .. or with the key bluetooth dongle v.2. in any event I buy on the site, so I'd like to understand how it works ..

if it has happened, you can help me.??

thank you to you
Atom182Fr offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:10 am

Post by PedroR » Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:55 pm

Post by PedroR
Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:55 pm

Hi Atom182Fr

For troubleshooting:

1) To determine if the problem is caused by the software I wrote or the drivers for the BT dongle, please use the program available here http://robosavvy.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=19511#19287
It is a small VBScript tool that talks to the robot using the commands you give on the keyboard (no joystick)

2) If you have a normal PS2 controller (not Bluetooth) I would recommend that you also try the program with this controller instead of the Bluetooth controller.


As a final note, most BT stacks require that you first pair the devices (the dongle with Robobuilder) and, after that, on the Bluetooth manager tool, double click on the comm port or do some trick to manually establish a connection to robobuilder.
Once the connection is established you should be able to use the software normally.

- What model of BT dongle are you using?
- Are you using two dongles on the same computer (for example the built in bluetooth and an external/additional dongle)?
Hi Atom182Fr

For troubleshooting:

1) To determine if the problem is caused by the software I wrote or the drivers for the BT dongle, please use the program available here http://robosavvy.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=19511#19287
It is a small VBScript tool that talks to the robot using the commands you give on the keyboard (no joystick)

2) If you have a normal PS2 controller (not Bluetooth) I would recommend that you also try the program with this controller instead of the Bluetooth controller.


As a final note, most BT stacks require that you first pair the devices (the dongle with Robobuilder) and, after that, on the Bluetooth manager tool, double click on the comm port or do some trick to manually establish a connection to robobuilder.
Once the connection is established you should be able to use the software normally.

- What model of BT dongle are you using?
- Are you using two dongles on the same computer (for example the built in bluetooth and an external/additional dongle)?
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by Atom182Fr » Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:42 pm

Post by Atom182Fr
Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:42 pm

Excuse me, I speak badly. I use bluetooth only for connecting the robot to the computer. my Xbox controller and connected by cable .. I use only one key dongle.

Robobuilder connects the well to the computer. is when I use the software that there is this problem ..
Excuse me, I speak badly. I use bluetooth only for connecting the robot to the computer. my Xbox controller and connected by cable .. I use only one key dongle.

Robobuilder connects the well to the computer. is when I use the software that there is this problem ..
Atom182Fr offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:10 am

Post by PedroR » Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:00 pm

Post by PedroR
Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:00 pm

Hi Atom182

So if I understand correctly:
- Robobuilder talks to the computer with Bluetooth
- Your Xbox controller is connected to the computer with a cable (not with Bluetooth).

A few questions:
- Does it work if you use the Serial Cable and not the Bluetooth connection?
- Does it work if you use Bluetooth with Robobuilder but a different Joystick?
- Does it work with Bluetooth if you use the program I mentioned http://robosavvy.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=19511#19287


From my experience it is probably a problem caused by your Bluetooth drivers in your computer.
The Parani ESD200 Bluetooth Module that we sell for Robobuilder is a standard Bluetooth device and is widely used in many applications.

With regards to the possibility of being a software bug, full source code for the software is included so you can make the bug fixes yourself (if that's the case).
The software is contributed as a gift to the community and is not officially supported by Robobuilder.

There is another alternative to develop the PS2 remote control which is using .Net and the libraries by l3v3rz which are very good.

Regards
Pedro
Hi Atom182

So if I understand correctly:
- Robobuilder talks to the computer with Bluetooth
- Your Xbox controller is connected to the computer with a cable (not with Bluetooth).

A few questions:
- Does it work if you use the Serial Cable and not the Bluetooth connection?
- Does it work if you use Bluetooth with Robobuilder but a different Joystick?
- Does it work with Bluetooth if you use the program I mentioned http://robosavvy.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=19511#19287


From my experience it is probably a problem caused by your Bluetooth drivers in your computer.
The Parani ESD200 Bluetooth Module that we sell for Robobuilder is a standard Bluetooth device and is widely used in many applications.

With regards to the possibility of being a software bug, full source code for the software is included so you can make the bug fixes yourself (if that's the case).
The software is contributed as a gift to the community and is not officially supported by Robobuilder.

There is another alternative to develop the PS2 remote control which is using .Net and the libraries by l3v3rz which are very good.

Regards
Pedro
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Next
Next
23 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
23 postsPage 1 of 21, 2