Arduino and wCK modules.

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
8 postsPage 1 of 1
8 postsPage 1 of 1

Arduino and wCK modules.

Post by gr33nhorn » Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:58 pm

Post by gr33nhorn
Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:58 pm

hi
is it possible to send packet command from arduino tx and rx pin to control wCK modules?does arduino require the recommended voltage translation circuit board?will the arduino IDE a good and easier choice of making simple walking movements?
hi
is it possible to send packet command from arduino tx and rx pin to control wCK modules?does arduino require the recommended voltage translation circuit board?will the arduino IDE a good and easier choice of making simple walking movements?
gr33nhorn offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:35 pm

Post by limor » Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:33 pm

Post by limor
Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:33 pm

is it possible to send packet command from arduino tx and rx pin to control wCK modules?
Yes. same microprocessor (atmega168 at 16mhz) and same voltage.


does arduino require the recommended voltage translation circuit board?
It depends on the Arduino. There are at least 10 conforming to the specs on the market. So check out the voltage regulator thats on your arduino in google and look up the range in the regulator's specs.


will the arduino IDE a good and easier choice of making simple walking movements
first you need to implement the Robobuilder packet protocol but check the threads on this forum. you should find some source code or otherwise if you do implement the protocol, please share the code :)
is it possible to send packet command from arduino tx and rx pin to control wCK modules?
Yes. same microprocessor (atmega168 at 16mhz) and same voltage.


does arduino require the recommended voltage translation circuit board?
It depends on the Arduino. There are at least 10 conforming to the specs on the market. So check out the voltage regulator thats on your arduino in google and look up the range in the regulator's specs.


will the arduino IDE a good and easier choice of making simple walking movements
first you need to implement the Robobuilder packet protocol but check the threads on this forum. you should find some source code or otherwise if you do implement the protocol, please share the code :)
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by gr33nhorn » Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:49 pm

Post by gr33nhorn
Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:49 pm

i wish to try but i am alone to start off this thread as i am a green horn as shown.i dont mind sharing code only if i know how write one...8-)
i wish to try but i am alone to start off this thread as i am a green horn as shown.i dont mind sharing code only if i know how write one...8-)
gr33nhorn offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:35 pm

Post by gr33nhorn » Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:07 pm

Post by gr33nhorn
Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:07 pm

someone replied in my thread from other websites.said that arduino is not compatible with ax-12.does it mean arduino wont be able to hand 1m baud rate for wck modules?
someone replied in my thread from other websites.said that arduino is not compatible with ax-12.does it mean arduino wont be able to hand 1m baud rate for wck modules?
gr33nhorn offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:35 pm

Post by limor » Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 pm

Post by limor
Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 pm

AX12 is powered by 11V.
Arduino is supposed to be powered by 5V.
However, Arduino voltage regulator may be able to tolerate up to 14V.

Otherwise you can buy a small voltage regulator that will cost you next to nothing and solder it between the 11V and the input voltage of the aurduino.

once you have the voltage figured out, search Arduino in the Bioloid forum here. There have been plenty of threads talking about how to connect an Atmega board to the Bioloid bus. Any Atmega microcontroller running at 16mhz can communicated directly with the Bioloid bus. It is enough to short the RX and TX lines to the bus and run the UART at 1mhz, switching the RX/TX on/off as the synchronous communications occur.

In the case of the wCK you have even less to worry about because you just connect the RX and TX of the Arduino to the servo bus, set the UART to the right baud rate and talk with the servos.
AX12 is powered by 11V.
Arduino is supposed to be powered by 5V.
However, Arduino voltage regulator may be able to tolerate up to 14V.

Otherwise you can buy a small voltage regulator that will cost you next to nothing and solder it between the 11V and the input voltage of the aurduino.

once you have the voltage figured out, search Arduino in the Bioloid forum here. There have been plenty of threads talking about how to connect an Atmega board to the Bioloid bus. Any Atmega microcontroller running at 16mhz can communicated directly with the Bioloid bus. It is enough to short the RX and TX lines to the bus and run the UART at 1mhz, switching the RX/TX on/off as the synchronous communications occur.

In the case of the wCK you have even less to worry about because you just connect the RX and TX of the Arduino to the servo bus, set the UART to the right baud rate and talk with the servos.
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by gr33nhorn » Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:39 pm

Post by gr33nhorn
Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:39 pm

finally back to this forum.anyone keen to start this project thread and learn together with me?i just want to control a few wck servos using arduino.it seems that arduino is not a good choice to control those servos.none ever try it before.
finally back to this forum.anyone keen to start this project thread and learn together with me?i just want to control a few wck servos using arduino.it seems that arduino is not a good choice to control those servos.none ever try it before.
gr33nhorn offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:35 pm

Post by i-Bot » Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:07 pm

Post by i-Bot
Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:07 pm

The problem I see is if you want to use the arduino in standard configuration, then the single USART on the ATMega168 connects to the PC.

You really do need a USART to talk to the wck bus, the soft UART is not suitable at higher data speeds, and it is not buffered, so timing can be a problem.

This is why ATMega128 is normally used for controllers because it has two USARTS.
The problem I see is if you want to use the arduino in standard configuration, then the single USART on the ATMega168 connects to the PC.

You really do need a USART to talk to the wck bus, the soft UART is not suitable at higher data speeds, and it is not buffered, so timing can be a problem.

This is why ATMega128 is normally used for controllers because it has two USARTS.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by gr33nhorn » Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:32 pm

Post by gr33nhorn
Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:32 pm

thanks for your reply

The usb uart is for me to upload my program and will be removed after uploading is done.The rx and tx pins will be connected to the wck modules once the usb uart cable to the pc is being removed.i guess both shouldnt be connect to the same uart at the same time,am i right to say that?i will be using hard ware uart since pin 0 and 1 is hardware uart.so i guess i can set the baud rate at 921600bps.please correct me if im wrong as i'm still a newbie.hope someone can join in this project.
thanks for your reply

The usb uart is for me to upload my program and will be removed after uploading is done.The rx and tx pins will be connected to the wck modules once the usb uart cable to the pc is being removed.i guess both shouldnt be connect to the same uart at the same time,am i right to say that?i will be using hard ware uart since pin 0 and 1 is hardware uart.so i guess i can set the baud rate at 921600bps.please correct me if im wrong as i'm still a newbie.hope someone can join in this project.
gr33nhorn offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:35 pm


8 postsPage 1 of 1
8 postsPage 1 of 1
cron