wCK IO ports

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

wCK IO ports

Post by PedroR » Wed Jul 09, 2008 5:32 pm

Post by PedroR
Wed Jul 09, 2008 5:32 pm

Hi

I've got some new hands-on information about the wCK servo's:

According to the specs, all wCK servos come with 1 analog input and 2 discrete output ports.

Theoretically this means one can attach an analog sensor to an analog port on a servo and then sample the servo's port from a C program written on the controller.
This means the Robobuilder has 16 analog ports for sensors out of the box.

The IO ports are not exposed by default. However if you look carefully at a servo you will see that on one of the sides there is a small oval plastic cover about 5 mm wide.
Under that cover you will find the soldering points for the analog input and the 2 discrete output.

To remove the small oval cover and expose the soldering points, you must remove the servo screws, remove the top cover altogether and remove the small cover. Then reassemble the large cover/servo.

I've been disassembling a servo with Limor and we will post the pictures and all our findings tomorrow.

Pedro :)
Hi

I've got some new hands-on information about the wCK servo's:

According to the specs, all wCK servos come with 1 analog input and 2 discrete output ports.

Theoretically this means one can attach an analog sensor to an analog port on a servo and then sample the servo's port from a C program written on the controller.
This means the Robobuilder has 16 analog ports for sensors out of the box.

The IO ports are not exposed by default. However if you look carefully at a servo you will see that on one of the sides there is a small oval plastic cover about 5 mm wide.
Under that cover you will find the soldering points for the analog input and the 2 discrete output.

To remove the small oval cover and expose the soldering points, you must remove the servo screws, remove the top cover altogether and remove the small cover. Then reassemble the large cover/servo.

I've been disassembling a servo with Limor and we will post the pictures and all our findings tomorrow.

Pedro :)
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by i-Bot » Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:46 am

Post by i-Bot
Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:46 am

I am guessing that the output ports are where the LEDs connect on the transparent wCK. Also that the data field in motionbuilder feeds the data output ports.

Did anybody try this ?

What is connected to the A+ pin ?
I am guessing that the output ports are where the LEDs connect on the transparent wCK. Also that the data field in motionbuilder feeds the data output ports.

Did anybody try this ?

What is connected to the A+ pin ?
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by PedroR » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:49 am

Post by PedroR
Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:49 am

Hi iBot

I think you are right about the output ports being used for the LEDs in the transparent version.

Here are some more pics of what the IO port cover and the soldering points look like:

The soldering points for the IO ports are on the right, named +, 1, 3, 2, G:
Image

This is the small cap that needs to be removed in order to have the IO ports permanently exposed:
Image

The assembled servo, with the IO ports exposed:
Image

Pedro. :)
Hi iBot

I think you are right about the output ports being used for the LEDs in the transparent version.

Here are some more pics of what the IO port cover and the soldering points look like:

The soldering points for the IO ports are on the right, named +, 1, 3, 2, G:
Image

This is the small cap that needs to be removed in order to have the IO ports permanently exposed:
Image

The assembled servo, with the IO ports exposed:
Image

Pedro. :)
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1
cron