robophilo

From RoboBrothers.com (Livermore, CA) came the first sub US$400 humanoid robot kit to appear late 2007
205 postsPage 10 of 141 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
205 postsPage 10 of 141 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14

Post by Baccman » Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:42 am

Post by Baccman
Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:42 am

When you do the procedure that is described in the manual, all you are trying to do is fine tune the servos in the position they describe (sittting or standing). That setup has nothing to do with the transition.

I found even after that mine required more fine tuning to be able to do all the routines well. Try the soccer kick (button 7 I think), make sure his foot doesn't hit the ground and his balance is good.

Also make sure the get-up commands work (both from face-up and face-down). In those motions there is alot going on and everything has to work well to make it happen.
When you do the procedure that is described in the manual, all you are trying to do is fine tune the servos in the position they describe (sittting or standing). That setup has nothing to do with the transition.

I found even after that mine required more fine tuning to be able to do all the routines well. Try the soccer kick (button 7 I think), make sure his foot doesn't hit the ground and his balance is good.

Also make sure the get-up commands work (both from face-up and face-down). In those motions there is alot going on and everything has to work well to make it happen.
Baccman offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:34 am

Post by themannamedpatty » Sat May 17, 2008 9:34 pm

Post by themannamedpatty
Sat May 17, 2008 9:34 pm

Hello, I'm new to the world of robotics, and RoboPhilo seems like a good choice for beginners like me. I'd like to know if this robot comes with preprogramed movements, like walking, arm swings, etc?
Hello, I'm new to the world of robotics, and RoboPhilo seems like a good choice for beginners like me. I'd like to know if this robot comes with preprogramed movements, like walking, arm swings, etc?
themannamedpatty offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 9:31 pm

Post by Tech Mech » Sat May 17, 2008 9:43 pm

Post by Tech Mech
Sat May 17, 2008 9:43 pm

themannamedpatty wrote:Hello, I'm new to the world of robotics, and RoboPhilo seems like a good choice for beginners like me. I'd like to know if this robot comes with preprogramed movements, like walking, arm swings, etc?


It does but the servos are week and its kinda difficult to tune. You get what you pay for. Take a look at the Bioloid kit or the Robonova as well before making a choice. Oh and welcome to the forums :)
themannamedpatty wrote:Hello, I'm new to the world of robotics, and RoboPhilo seems like a good choice for beginners like me. I'd like to know if this robot comes with preprogramed movements, like walking, arm swings, etc?


It does but the servos are week and its kinda difficult to tune. You get what you pay for. Take a look at the Bioloid kit or the Robonova as well before making a choice. Oh and welcome to the forums :)
Tech Mech offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:21 am
Location: Detroit Mi

Post by themannamedpatty » Sat May 17, 2008 10:38 pm

Post by themannamedpatty
Sat May 17, 2008 10:38 pm

would it be easier to tune if I got the SDK as well?
would it be easier to tune if I got the SDK as well?
themannamedpatty offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 9:31 pm

Post by Tech Mech » Sat May 17, 2008 11:06 pm

Post by Tech Mech
Sat May 17, 2008 11:06 pm

Robophilo uses analog servos to keep the cost down During assembly you have to go through a tuning procedure (adjusting servos) when you build the arms,legs etc. Then once assembled you have to fine tune the completed robot. Check out the assembly guide
http://www.robophilo.com/live/products/ ... /index.htm
The SDK is for developing your own programing using C I believe. I do not have it.
Robophilo uses analog servos to keep the cost down During assembly you have to go through a tuning procedure (adjusting servos) when you build the arms,legs etc. Then once assembled you have to fine tune the completed robot. Check out the assembly guide
http://www.robophilo.com/live/products/ ... /index.htm
The SDK is for developing your own programing using C I believe. I do not have it.
Tech Mech offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:21 am
Location: Detroit Mi

Post by themannamedpatty » Sat May 24, 2008 7:54 pm

Post by themannamedpatty
Sat May 24, 2008 7:54 pm

Could Robophilo, be programed by, software from other robot kits?
Could Robophilo, be programed by, software from other robot kits?
themannamedpatty offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 9:31 pm

Post by robomaster » Fri May 30, 2008 6:39 am

Post by robomaster
Fri May 30, 2008 6:39 am

You can program robophilo from other robot kits only if that kit can output the same format motion text file as in philo-motion. Then you download the new motion file onto the robot. For interactive programming, you need to use the motion creator GUI from Robophilo.
You can program robophilo from other robot kits only if that kit can output the same format motion text file as in philo-motion. Then you download the new motion file onto the robot. For interactive programming, you need to use the motion creator GUI from Robophilo.
robomaster offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 5:26 am

Post by Raul » Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:32 pm

Post by Raul
Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:32 pm

Hi.
Robophilo is a good robot for a beginner, the prove of that is the comment in post in this site http://www.robots-dreams.com/2008/06/ro ... 200-1.html , robophilo win the silver medal.

i am think buy one robophilo, i am a begginer and robophilo has a low cost.

Cumpliments
Hi.
Robophilo is a good robot for a beginner, the prove of that is the comment in post in this site http://www.robots-dreams.com/2008/06/ro ... 200-1.html , robophilo win the silver medal.

i am think buy one robophilo, i am a begginer and robophilo has a low cost.

Cumpliments
Raul offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:29 pm

Post by engineer » Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:59 pm

Post by engineer
Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:59 pm

Raul, robophilo is an inexspensive robot to learn with, but if you bring it to a competition, almost any robonova will defeat it, since rn's out weigh it. By the time you upgrade the servos for feedback you will have spent 50% more than a rn costs. Robophilo and RN-! sparred all day friday while RN-! had two stripped thigh servos. when I matched RN-! with Robophilo all I had to do was walk up to it and punch it down. johnjjcnov@aol.com
Raul, robophilo is an inexspensive robot to learn with, but if you bring it to a competition, almost any robonova will defeat it, since rn's out weigh it. By the time you upgrade the servos for feedback you will have spent 50% more than a rn costs. Robophilo and RN-! sparred all day friday while RN-! had two stripped thigh servos. when I matched RN-! with Robophilo all I had to do was walk up to it and punch it down. johnjjcnov@aol.com
engineer offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:00 am
Location: northern california

Post by robomaster » Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:23 am

Post by robomaster
Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:23 am

But Robophilo just win a silver medal in the RoboGame 2008 Light Wt Kung-fu competition last Sunday. The robophilo wins one robonova and one Kondo KHR robot. The winning motion file is published in the www.robobrothers.com.
But Robophilo just win a silver medal in the RoboGame 2008 Light Wt Kung-fu competition last Sunday. The robophilo wins one robonova and one Kondo KHR robot. The winning motion file is published in the www.robobrothers.com.
robomaster offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 5:26 am

Post by Raul » Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:52 pm

Post by Raul
Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:52 pm

hi i decided, I will buy robophilo.

Cumpliments
hi i decided, I will buy robophilo.

Cumpliments
Raul offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:29 pm

shoulder tuning

Post by RiffRaff » Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:48 pm

Post by RiffRaff
Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:48 pm

Greetings, and thank you for all the tips and related experience with Robophilo.

I recently bought a second hand, still new in box and am assembling it. After getting the arms together and following the instructions along with the great tips posted here, I got the arms to center. After that, it didn't seem to work, so I manually centered the legs, which actually made assembly go more quickly.

Now I'm working on the body and I'd like to know what the range of motion for the shoulders is.... in other words, where is center?

Once I get it together, fine tuned and working properly I'm most likely going to upgrade servos. Does anyone have any further suggestions or tips for upgrading?

Have you seen www.mech-warfare.com? That's where I'm going with this, hopefully, but I'll get the bioloid or RN if this less expensive rout doesn't work out.

Thanks again!

Riff
Greetings, and thank you for all the tips and related experience with Robophilo.

I recently bought a second hand, still new in box and am assembling it. After getting the arms together and following the instructions along with the great tips posted here, I got the arms to center. After that, it didn't seem to work, so I manually centered the legs, which actually made assembly go more quickly.

Now I'm working on the body and I'd like to know what the range of motion for the shoulders is.... in other words, where is center?

Once I get it together, fine tuned and working properly I'm most likely going to upgrade servos. Does anyone have any further suggestions or tips for upgrading?

Have you seen www.mech-warfare.com? That's where I'm going with this, hopefully, but I'll get the bioloid or RN if this less expensive rout doesn't work out.

Thanks again!

Riff
RiffRaff offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 5:00 pm

wanna buy it

Post by prathik23 » Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:38 am

Post by prathik23
Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:38 am

Hello All,

I am new to this world of robots. I am planning to buy a robophilo. But I have some questions.

1. Is it better to buy a kit and assemble it or go for a ready to walk robophilo (how many hours it take to assemble it?)

2. Is it better to purchase a robophilo or go for a robonova (My professor asked me to go for a better one no budget constraints upto 1000 usd)

3. Anyone who already bought this, suggest me weather I should go for this robot to use to use it for exercise moves?

Sorry for all the bunch of questions... But I am very confused as there is little documentation about this robot... thank you everyone...
Hello All,

I am new to this world of robots. I am planning to buy a robophilo. But I have some questions.

1. Is it better to buy a kit and assemble it or go for a ready to walk robophilo (how many hours it take to assemble it?)

2. Is it better to purchase a robophilo or go for a robonova (My professor asked me to go for a better one no budget constraints upto 1000 usd)

3. Anyone who already bought this, suggest me weather I should go for this robot to use to use it for exercise moves?

Sorry for all the bunch of questions... But I am very confused as there is little documentation about this robot... thank you everyone...
prathik23 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:44 pm

Re: wanna buy it

Post by robomaster » Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:47 am

Post by robomaster
Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:47 am

Do you want to develop your C programs to control the robot? Robophilo has optional SDK for you to do your C programming and add your own hardware modules. Your can add PS2 controller to Robophilo for $49.
Do you want to develop your C programs to control the robot? Robophilo has optional SDK for you to do your C programming and add your own hardware modules. Your can add PS2 controller to Robophilo for $49.
robomaster offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 5:26 am

Post by prathik23 » Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:08 am

Post by prathik23
Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:08 am

I don't want PS2 controller... can I automate the control using the computer? I am working in C++ can I program it using C++?
I don't want PS2 controller... can I automate the control using the computer? I am working in C++ can I program it using C++?
prathik23 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:44 pm

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
205 postsPage 10 of 141 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
205 postsPage 10 of 141 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14