Worst Software Ever

Takahashi's design (robo-garage.com), Kondo servos and controller, and kit production by RC company Kyosho brought to life PF01.
2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1

Worst Software Ever

Post by alexj212 » Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:25 am

Post by alexj212
Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:25 am

Like comic book guy on the Simpsons would say about H2H software.

I have completed my manoi, I will be posting my notes on the build process, I made a few mistakes that I have caught so far. After the setup part I will see if I have made any more.

The one thing I did going back on my work, was use a sharpee to mark in black ink Left or Right side assemblies. This helped make sure the build process went smooth. I didnt do this at first and wound up putting the left arm assembly on the wrong side. I was then able to reverify all sides after retracing steps to the diagrams.

The lesson there is either get some sleep before attempting to put it togther, or know when to take a brake and go to sleep. I was up till 4am dreeary eyed looking to be able to plug it in.

I am to setup my manoi with H2H. I am up to trimming it out, My main issue, is the trim function seems to loose communication. I seem to be able to trim one servo and then I move to the next and it doesnt respond.

Yikes, the software doesnt layout properly, bad messages. Non intuituve.
Anyways back to the fun
Like comic book guy on the Simpsons would say about H2H software.

I have completed my manoi, I will be posting my notes on the build process, I made a few mistakes that I have caught so far. After the setup part I will see if I have made any more.

The one thing I did going back on my work, was use a sharpee to mark in black ink Left or Right side assemblies. This helped make sure the build process went smooth. I didnt do this at first and wound up putting the left arm assembly on the wrong side. I was then able to reverify all sides after retracing steps to the diagrams.

The lesson there is either get some sleep before attempting to put it togther, or know when to take a brake and go to sleep. I was up till 4am dreeary eyed looking to be able to plug it in.

I am to setup my manoi with H2H. I am up to trimming it out, My main issue, is the trim function seems to loose communication. I seem to be able to trim one servo and then I move to the next and it doesnt respond.

Yikes, the software doesnt layout properly, bad messages. Non intuituve.
Anyways back to the fun
alexj212 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:00 am
Location: New York, NY

Post by slashsplat » Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:44 am

Post by slashsplat
Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:44 am

I noted the L/R thing. Bitched me up. I ALSO finished at 4:30AM and stopped.

My software ALSO loses comm at TRIM. At first I thought it was the battery. It ain't since I now have a power supply. I wound up saving the TRIM to a special TRIM file every two servos. Then you can load it back where you were. The TRIM RCB is *NOT* the same format as the motion RCB file!!!

HTH is pretty poor.

Possibly the worst commercial software I have seen in years. And that ignores the idiotic xlation by machine. How hard would it have been to get an English speaker to take ONE HOUR and correct the screen labels??

I have the most trouble on trim using the right and left arrow keys. Also have trouble when I switch to a new servo. Seems like servo 7 was always the one it would die on.

CONGRATULATIONS!

I would like a copy of your TRIM file to compare to mine. Theoretically it should show the difference in the position of the horns on the servo armatures the way we put them on.

I am about to upload the whole batch of motion files to
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/slashsplat/
Check it in 15 minutes (at 23:00 ET).
I noted the L/R thing. Bitched me up. I ALSO finished at 4:30AM and stopped.

My software ALSO loses comm at TRIM. At first I thought it was the battery. It ain't since I now have a power supply. I wound up saving the TRIM to a special TRIM file every two servos. Then you can load it back where you were. The TRIM RCB is *NOT* the same format as the motion RCB file!!!

HTH is pretty poor.

Possibly the worst commercial software I have seen in years. And that ignores the idiotic xlation by machine. How hard would it have been to get an English speaker to take ONE HOUR and correct the screen labels??

I have the most trouble on trim using the right and left arrow keys. Also have trouble when I switch to a new servo. Seems like servo 7 was always the one it would die on.

CONGRATULATIONS!

I would like a copy of your TRIM file to compare to mine. Theoretically it should show the difference in the position of the horns on the servo armatures the way we put them on.

I am about to upload the whole batch of motion files to
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/slashsplat/
Check it in 15 minutes (at 23:00 ET).
<i>Ira Chandler</i> /* slashsplat */
<b>http://BotConnect.com</b>
home of the American MANOI Users Group
slashsplat offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ball Ground, Georgia USA


2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1
cron