GYROs and Accelerometers

Takahashi's design (robo-garage.com), Kondo servos and controller, and kit production by RC company Kyosho brought to life PF01.
7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1

GYROs and Accelerometers

Post by slashsplat » Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:09 pm

Post by slashsplat
Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:09 pm

Topic: How fast you can swallow a Greek sandwich

I have two KRG-3 and one RAS-2. I have a KRG-2 on order.

The KRG-2 is the one that hooks INLINE with the foot and ankle servos to provide some tilt resistance when standing flat.

The Others hook to the Analog ports on the RCB and are used by the programs to EITHER "mix" in with existing servo commands to "modify them" or to generate discrete executions of specific stored motions. (I think)

I will hook up the KRG3+RAS2 to the analogs, and the KRG-2 just hooks inline with four bottom servos. Her is a link to the docs for them in a thread:

http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=F ... topic&t=40

Note that these are standard KONDO parts. My interest is MORE to have the bot survive a large impact with steps than just increase flat-footed stability (ala KRG-2). But I will try them all.
Topic: How fast you can swallow a Greek sandwich

I have two KRG-3 and one RAS-2. I have a KRG-2 on order.

The KRG-2 is the one that hooks INLINE with the foot and ankle servos to provide some tilt resistance when standing flat.

The Others hook to the Analog ports on the RCB and are used by the programs to EITHER "mix" in with existing servo commands to "modify them" or to generate discrete executions of specific stored motions. (I think)

I will hook up the KRG3+RAS2 to the analogs, and the KRG-2 just hooks inline with four bottom servos. Her is a link to the docs for them in a thread:

http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=F ... topic&t=40

Note that these are standard KONDO parts. My interest is MORE to have the bot survive a large impact with steps than just increase flat-footed stability (ala KRG-2). But I will try them all.
<i>Ira Chandler</i> /* slashsplat */
<b>http://BotConnect.com</b>
home of the American MANOI Users Group
slashsplat offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ball Ground, Georgia USA

Re: GYROs and Accelerometers

Post by tempusmaster » Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:36 pm

Post by tempusmaster
Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:36 pm

slashsplat wrote:Topic: How fast you can swallow a Greek sandwich

I have two KRG-3 and one RAS-2. I have a KRG-2 on order.

The KRG-2 is the one that hooks INLINE with the foot and ankle servos to provide some tilt resistance when standing flat.

The KRG-2 was used with the KHR-1. The only time I have seen anyone use it with the RCB3 is when the KRG-3 were completely sold out just before ROBO-ONE 10 this September and they had no choice.

The Others hook to the Analog ports on the RCB and are used by the programs to EITHER "mix" in with existing servo commands to "modify them" or to generate discrete executions of specific stored motions. (I think)

I will hook up the KRG3+RAS2 to the analogs,

That is the recommended configuration.
and the KRG-2 just hooks inline with four bottom servos. Her is a link to the docs for them in a thread:

http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=F ... topic&t=40

That was for the KHR-1.

At best, having both the KRG-3 and KRG-2 gyros on the same robot is a waste of money. At worst, it might produce very unpredictable results.

You might find this post useful. In the animated diagram the gyro used with the RCB1 is the KRG-2 while the RCB3 uses the KRG-3.
Note that these are standard KONDO parts. My interest is MORE to have the bot survive a large impact with steps than just increase flat-footed stability (ala KRG-2). But I will try them all.

I'm not sure what you are trying to describe by "a large impact with steps".
slashsplat wrote:Topic: How fast you can swallow a Greek sandwich

I have two KRG-3 and one RAS-2. I have a KRG-2 on order.

The KRG-2 is the one that hooks INLINE with the foot and ankle servos to provide some tilt resistance when standing flat.

The KRG-2 was used with the KHR-1. The only time I have seen anyone use it with the RCB3 is when the KRG-3 were completely sold out just before ROBO-ONE 10 this September and they had no choice.

The Others hook to the Analog ports on the RCB and are used by the programs to EITHER "mix" in with existing servo commands to "modify them" or to generate discrete executions of specific stored motions. (I think)

I will hook up the KRG3+RAS2 to the analogs,

That is the recommended configuration.
and the KRG-2 just hooks inline with four bottom servos. Her is a link to the docs for them in a thread:

http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=F ... topic&t=40

That was for the KHR-1.

At best, having both the KRG-3 and KRG-2 gyros on the same robot is a waste of money. At worst, it might produce very unpredictable results.

You might find this post useful. In the animated diagram the gyro used with the RCB1 is the KRG-2 while the RCB3 uses the KRG-3.
Note that these are standard KONDO parts. My interest is MORE to have the bot survive a large impact with steps than just increase flat-footed stability (ala KRG-2). But I will try them all.

I'm not sure what you are trying to describe by "a large impact with steps".
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Post by slashsplat » Sun Jan 14, 2007 4:35 pm

Post by slashsplat
Sun Jan 14, 2007 4:35 pm

KRG-2 ... The only time I have seen anyone use it with the RCB3 is when the KRG-3 were completely sold out.

The appeal is to offload some processing from the RCB. Seemed like it COULD be more responsive. I will test and post.

I will hook up the KRG3+RAS2 to the analogs,
...
That is the recommended configuration.

Got the KRG3's hooked in and one is working. I am mixing them in to some lower servos (post later with example of settings) and it increases stability front to back nicely. One is simply not working. I will debug later.

Did not hook up the RAS2 yet.

At best, having both the KRG-3 and KRG-2 gyros on the same robot is a waste of money. At worst, it might produce very unpredictable results.

I LOVE unpredictable! Never intended to actually use them together, just to compare the responsiveness. The KRG3s are very predictable - turn up the mix too far and they oscillate like quartz hit by lightning. And money is not an issue, these parts should be easy to resell once I sort them out.

I'm not sure what you are trying to describe by "a large impact with steps".

If the bot is pushed where the COG goes outside the footprint, something that a gyro mix cannot repair. This is the purpose of the OTHER analog settings, to trigger a MOTION when the gyro input exceeds a preset. I do not have my motion library together enough to do that.

My goal is to develop a motion library of "phonemes" that can combine to do whaterver actions are needed. You would think that KYOSHO would realease that with the bot...
KRG-2 ... The only time I have seen anyone use it with the RCB3 is when the KRG-3 were completely sold out.

The appeal is to offload some processing from the RCB. Seemed like it COULD be more responsive. I will test and post.

I will hook up the KRG3+RAS2 to the analogs,
...
That is the recommended configuration.

Got the KRG3's hooked in and one is working. I am mixing them in to some lower servos (post later with example of settings) and it increases stability front to back nicely. One is simply not working. I will debug later.

Did not hook up the RAS2 yet.

At best, having both the KRG-3 and KRG-2 gyros on the same robot is a waste of money. At worst, it might produce very unpredictable results.

I LOVE unpredictable! Never intended to actually use them together, just to compare the responsiveness. The KRG3s are very predictable - turn up the mix too far and they oscillate like quartz hit by lightning. And money is not an issue, these parts should be easy to resell once I sort them out.

I'm not sure what you are trying to describe by "a large impact with steps".

If the bot is pushed where the COG goes outside the footprint, something that a gyro mix cannot repair. This is the purpose of the OTHER analog settings, to trigger a MOTION when the gyro input exceeds a preset. I do not have my motion library together enough to do that.

My goal is to develop a motion library of "phonemes" that can combine to do whaterver actions are needed. You would think that KYOSHO would realease that with the bot...
<i>Ira Chandler</i> /* slashsplat */
<b>http://BotConnect.com</b>
home of the American MANOI Users Group
slashsplat offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ball Ground, Georgia USA

Post by slashsplat » Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:30 pm

Post by slashsplat
Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:30 pm

I have come to understand that my mounting of the gyros on the shoulders may not be ideal. :( They should be mounted on the centerline of the bot. As well, I am not sure the orientation is correct. So if you see my pix in the file section, do NOT mount your gyros the way I did.

Now, if I could just find solvent for that permanent epoxy... Just kidding. :twisted:

More to come.
I have come to understand that my mounting of the gyros on the shoulders may not be ideal. :( They should be mounted on the centerline of the bot. As well, I am not sure the orientation is correct. So if you see my pix in the file section, do NOT mount your gyros the way I did.

Now, if I could just find solvent for that permanent epoxy... Just kidding. :twisted:

More to come.
<i>Ira Chandler</i> /* slashsplat */
<b>http://BotConnect.com</b>
home of the American MANOI Users Group
slashsplat offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ball Ground, Georgia USA

Post by tempusmaster » Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:58 pm

Post by tempusmaster
Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:58 pm

slashsplat wrote:I have come to understand that my mounting of the gyros on the shoulders may not be ideal. :( They should be mounted on the centerline of the bot. As well, I am not sure the orientation is correct. So if you see my pix in the file section, do NOT mount your gyros the way I did.

Now, if I could just find solvent for that permanent epoxy... Just kidding. :twisted:

More to come.


Here you go: MANOI AT01 Gyro Installation :D

And while you're on that page, check out the other links in the left side bar for information on preparing the body shells, setting up the AT01 with the Kondo remote control, and a few other goodies.

You can safely ignore the page about 'ARC' since that's the timing device used for the sprint during the competitions here. 8)

Enjoy.
slashsplat wrote:I have come to understand that my mounting of the gyros on the shoulders may not be ideal. :( They should be mounted on the centerline of the bot. As well, I am not sure the orientation is correct. So if you see my pix in the file section, do NOT mount your gyros the way I did.

Now, if I could just find solvent for that permanent epoxy... Just kidding. :twisted:

More to come.


Here you go: MANOI AT01 Gyro Installation :D

And while you're on that page, check out the other links in the left side bar for information on preparing the body shells, setting up the AT01 with the Kondo remote control, and a few other goodies.

You can safely ignore the page about 'ARC' since that's the timing device used for the sprint during the competitions here. 8)

Enjoy.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Correct Placement!!

Post by slashsplat » Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:54 pm

Post by slashsplat
Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:54 pm

Correct placement pix are on the site at
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/slashsplat/
Correct placement pix are on the site at
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/slashsplat/
<i>Ira Chandler</i> /* slashsplat */
<b>http://BotConnect.com</b>
home of the American MANOI Users Group
slashsplat offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ball Ground, Georgia USA

Post by slashsplat » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:17 am

Post by slashsplat
Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:17 am

And, I was just informed that the motion files for the MANOI are generally made for the bot with a BATTERY installed. I have been working with the external supply and did not think to place the battery in the chest for the balance that the factory designed him for and most users program him to have.

So I will place the battery in the chest and continue. I knew I was unbalanced, but didn't know it was contagious.
And, I was just informed that the motion files for the MANOI are generally made for the bot with a BATTERY installed. I have been working with the external supply and did not think to place the battery in the chest for the balance that the factory designed him for and most users program him to have.

So I will place the battery in the chest and continue. I knew I was unbalanced, but didn't know it was contagious.
<i>Ira Chandler</i> /* slashsplat */
<b>http://BotConnect.com</b>
home of the American MANOI Users Group
slashsplat offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ball Ground, Georgia USA


7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1
cron