Manoi - Remote Control

Takahashi's design (robo-garage.com), Kondo servos and controller, and kit production by RC company Kyosho brought to life PF01.
7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1

Manoi - Remote Control

Post by alexj212 » Sat Jan 06, 2007 7:44 pm

Post by alexj212
Sat Jan 06, 2007 7:44 pm

I was wondering what are the remote control abilities of the Manoi, Does this have to be modded to get this sort of functionality, such as with a BlueSmirf module? Has anyone does this? What is involved. Thanks

Alex
I was wondering what are the remote control abilities of the Manoi, Does this have to be modded to get this sort of functionality, such as with a BlueSmirf module? Has anyone does this? What is involved. Thanks

Alex
alexj212 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:00 am
Location: New York, NY

Post by srobot » Sat Jan 06, 2007 8:14 pm

Post by srobot
Sat Jan 06, 2007 8:14 pm

Hi,
Manoi does not come with one, so you can ether buy a Kondo KRC-1, or KRC-2, or you can make your own remote with WI-FI, Bluetooth, etc. So a BlueSmirf module would work!

I hope this helps,
--srobot
Hi,
Manoi does not come with one, so you can ether buy a Kondo KRC-1, or KRC-2, or you can make your own remote with WI-FI, Bluetooth, etc. So a BlueSmirf module would work!

I hope this helps,
--srobot
Dell Latitude D520, Windows XP, 4 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD, Intel Core 2 Duo. The power that's needed!

RIBO Labs, Springing Robotic Development to a New Level
srobot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Deep in robot parts

Post by slashsplat » Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:09 pm

Post by slashsplat
Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:09 pm

I got sick of the little cable and made a 15' extension with RJ11 phone wire. Works great. Also put an external supply set to 10.8VDC and run both wires DOWN to it. Works great for development. Very interested in RF. Not real thrilled about Bluetooth cause of the limited range, I think?
I got sick of the little cable and made a 15' extension with RJ11 phone wire. Works great. Also put an external supply set to 10.8VDC and run both wires DOWN to it. Works great for development. Very interested in RF. Not real thrilled about Bluetooth cause of the limited range, I think?
<i>Ira Chandler</i> /* slashsplat */
<b>http://BotConnect.com</b>
home of the American MANOI Users Group
slashsplat offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ball Ground, Georgia USA

Post by Pev » Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:32 pm

Post by Pev
Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:32 pm

I have and do use bluetooth on both my Bioloid and Robonova. Am using units spec'd for 100m range and have had no issue as I am rarely more than 5 or 6 m from the bots.

Pev
I have and do use bluetooth on both my Bioloid and Robonova. Am using units spec'd for 100m range and have had no issue as I am rarely more than 5 or 6 m from the bots.

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Post by srobot » Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:40 pm

Post by srobot
Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:40 pm

100m LOS (line of sight)?

Thanks
--srobot
100m LOS (line of sight)?

Thanks
--srobot
Dell Latitude D520, Windows XP, 4 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD, Intel Core 2 Duo. The power that's needed!

RIBO Labs, Springing Robotic Development to a New Level
srobot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Deep in robot parts

Post by Pev » Sun Jan 07, 2007 12:39 am

Post by Pev
Sun Jan 07, 2007 12:39 am

I guess it is LOS - as I say I am rarely far from my 'bots, I have certainly controlled them using bluetooth from other rooms in my house :wink:

Pev
I guess it is LOS - as I say I am rarely far from my 'bots, I have certainly controlled them using bluetooth from other rooms in my house :wink:

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Re: Manoi - Remote Control

Post by tempusmaster » Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:11 am

Post by tempusmaster
Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:11 am

alexj212 wrote:I was wondering what are the remote control abilities of the Manoi, Does this have to be modded to get this sort of functionality, such as with a BlueSmirf module? Has anyone does this? What is involved. Thanks

Alex

The MANOI AT01 uses the RCB3 controller from Kondo, which for remote control purposes is identical to the RCB3J used in the KHR-2HV and KHR-1HV. They are compatible with the RCB1 interfaces used with the older KHR-1.

The bottom line is that all of the remote control strategies used for the Kondo KHR series robots will work the same way with the AT01, so you have lots of choices.
alexj212 wrote:I was wondering what are the remote control abilities of the Manoi, Does this have to be modded to get this sort of functionality, such as with a BlueSmirf module? Has anyone does this? What is involved. Thanks

Alex

The MANOI AT01 uses the RCB3 controller from Kondo, which for remote control purposes is identical to the RCB3J used in the KHR-2HV and KHR-1HV. They are compatible with the RCB1 interfaces used with the older KHR-1.

The bottom line is that all of the remote control strategies used for the Kondo KHR series robots will work the same way with the AT01, so you have lots of choices.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am


7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1
cron