English Versions of the Kondo/Manoi *.rcb files anyone?

Takahashi's design (robo-garage.com), Kondo servos and controller, and kit production by RC company Kyosho brought to life PF01.
25 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
25 postsPage 2 of 21, 2

Post by slashsplat » Wed Jan 31, 2007 8:27 pm

Post by slashsplat
Wed Jan 31, 2007 8:27 pm

Make sure to post in the KHR section, the folks there are wizards on that little fellow.

Since the leg orientation is better (allowing a MUCH deeper squat), and primarily bending in the same rough way, you would think that a set of comparative values could be developed to CONVERT the 1 files to 2. Even if the application of adjustment was proportional, the files are plain text, and if a formula could be derived, it could be applied to i files programmatically to create files for 2... Certainly someone has dealt with this...
Make sure to post in the KHR section, the folks there are wizards on that little fellow.

Since the leg orientation is better (allowing a MUCH deeper squat), and primarily bending in the same rough way, you would think that a set of comparative values could be developed to CONVERT the 1 files to 2. Even if the application of adjustment was proportional, the files are plain text, and if a formula could be derived, it could be applied to i files programmatically to create files for 2... Certainly someone has dealt with this...
<i>Ira Chandler</i> /* slashsplat */
<b>http://BotConnect.com</b>
home of the American MANOI Users Group
slashsplat offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ball Ground, Georgia USA

Post by tempusmaster » Thu Feb 01, 2007 2:00 am

Post by tempusmaster
Thu Feb 01, 2007 2:00 am

slashsplat wrote:Make sure to post in the KHR section, the folks there are wizards on that little fellow.

Since the leg orientation is better (allowing a MUCH deeper squat), and primarily bending in the same rough way, you would think that a set of comparative values could be developed to CONVERT the 1 files to 2. Even if the application of adjustment was proportional, the files are plain text, and if a formula could be derived, it could be applied to i files programmatically to create files for 2... Certainly someone has dealt with this...

In theory it could certainly be done.

In practice, it's more complex than it seems. The KHR-2HV, KHR-1HV, and MANOI AT01 all use the same basic software (H2H3 or H2H3J) and controller (RCB3 or RCB3J). But their geometry, home positions, servos (hence operating range, speed, torque, etc.), setups (the AT01 has some servos setup in reverse mode), and in some cases their DOF are different.
slashsplat wrote:Make sure to post in the KHR section, the folks there are wizards on that little fellow.

Since the leg orientation is better (allowing a MUCH deeper squat), and primarily bending in the same rough way, you would think that a set of comparative values could be developed to CONVERT the 1 files to 2. Even if the application of adjustment was proportional, the files are plain text, and if a formula could be derived, it could be applied to i files programmatically to create files for 2... Certainly someone has dealt with this...

In theory it could certainly be done.

In practice, it's more complex than it seems. The KHR-2HV, KHR-1HV, and MANOI AT01 all use the same basic software (H2H3 or H2H3J) and controller (RCB3 or RCB3J). But their geometry, home positions, servos (hence operating range, speed, torque, etc.), setups (the AT01 has some servos setup in reverse mode), and in some cases their DOF are different.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Post by PaulP » Thu Feb 01, 2007 2:05 am

Post by PaulP
Thu Feb 01, 2007 2:05 am

Mine is the new KHR-1HV...

So far there have been little or no posts about it, a bit new...

Its different from the others in that it uses the RCB3 not the RCB3J as does yours which is why I posted where I did. Although I have a different robot, because of the board type I end up in the same conundrum.

I also experienced the problem you had about not seeing saved motions in the list but it appears you have to read them first. They dont automatically appear.

Still havent worked out how to get to the other 2 banks of motions yet.

BTW what is the tiny little switch on the board for? cant find a reference to it in my documentation..
Mine is the new KHR-1HV...

So far there have been little or no posts about it, a bit new...

Its different from the others in that it uses the RCB3 not the RCB3J as does yours which is why I posted where I did. Although I have a different robot, because of the board type I end up in the same conundrum.

I also experienced the problem you had about not seeing saved motions in the list but it appears you have to read them first. They dont automatically appear.

Still havent worked out how to get to the other 2 banks of motions yet.

BTW what is the tiny little switch on the board for? cant find a reference to it in my documentation..
PaulP offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:00 am
Location: West Mids, United Kingdom

Post by tempusmaster » Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:56 am

Post by tempusmaster
Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:56 am

PaulP wrote:Mine is the new KHR-1HV...

So far there have been little or no posts about it, a bit new...

Very new, even here in Japan.

Its different from the others in that it uses the RCB3 not the RCB3J as does yours which is why I posted where I did.

Except for the added DOF and KRS-4024HV shoulder servos, the KHR-1HV is basically the same as the KHR-2HV. For the KHR-1HV Kondo switched from the RCB3J to the RCB3 because of the different shoulder servos since the RCB3J doesn't support all of the 4000 series functions.
Although I have a different robot, because of the board type I end up in the same conundrum.

There is probably some other reason.
I also experienced the problem you had about not seeing saved motions in the list but it appears you have to read them first. They dont automatically appear.

They are saved in the robot controller (RCB3) and aren't automatically retrieved by H2H3 unless you tell it to by using the table function.

Still havent worked out how to get to the other 2 banks of motions yet.

I'm not sure what you're referencing. Could you post a manual page reference, photo, or screenshot?
BTW what is the tiny little switch on the board for? cant find a reference to it in my documentation..

Switch 1 - the small push button switch? You can setup H2H3 (and H2H3J) to map a scenario to the button. You depress the button for around 3 seconds then the scenario starts execution. It's typically used for demonstrations, like the 2 minute autonomous demonstration phase in the ROBO-ONE competitions.
PaulP wrote:Mine is the new KHR-1HV...

So far there have been little or no posts about it, a bit new...

Very new, even here in Japan.

Its different from the others in that it uses the RCB3 not the RCB3J as does yours which is why I posted where I did.

Except for the added DOF and KRS-4024HV shoulder servos, the KHR-1HV is basically the same as the KHR-2HV. For the KHR-1HV Kondo switched from the RCB3J to the RCB3 because of the different shoulder servos since the RCB3J doesn't support all of the 4000 series functions.
Although I have a different robot, because of the board type I end up in the same conundrum.

There is probably some other reason.
I also experienced the problem you had about not seeing saved motions in the list but it appears you have to read them first. They dont automatically appear.

They are saved in the robot controller (RCB3) and aren't automatically retrieved by H2H3 unless you tell it to by using the table function.

Still havent worked out how to get to the other 2 banks of motions yet.

I'm not sure what you're referencing. Could you post a manual page reference, photo, or screenshot?
BTW what is the tiny little switch on the board for? cant find a reference to it in my documentation..

Switch 1 - the small push button switch? You can setup H2H3 (and H2H3J) to map a scenario to the button. You depress the button for around 3 seconds then the scenario starts execution. It's typically used for demonstrations, like the 2 minute autonomous demonstration phase in the ROBO-ONE competitions.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Post by PaulP » Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by PaulP
Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:12 pm

Thanks for that tempusmaster

Very new, even here in Japan.


I was a bit daunted by that fact when I first decided which one to buy. Think I made the right choice for me though..

I'm not sure what you're referencing. Could you post a manual page reference, photo, or screenshot?


I will locate the reference and post it so you can see

Thanks again
Thanks for that tempusmaster

Very new, even here in Japan.


I was a bit daunted by that fact when I first decided which one to buy. Think I made the right choice for me though..

I'm not sure what you're referencing. Could you post a manual page reference, photo, or screenshot?


I will locate the reference and post it so you can see

Thanks again
PaulP offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:00 am
Location: West Mids, United Kingdom

Post by tempusmaster » Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:30 am

Post by tempusmaster
Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:30 am

PaulP wrote:Thanks for that tempusmaster

You're welcome.
Very new, even here in Japan.


I was a bit daunted by that fact when I first decided which one to buy. Think I made the right choice for me though..


It is a good choice. Almost all of the KHR-2HV information also applies to the KHR-1HV, with very few exceptions. There will be a lot more information available very soon.

I'm not sure what you're referencing. Could you post a manual page reference, photo, or screenshot?


I will locate the reference and post it so you can see

Okay. I'll watch for it.
PaulP wrote:Thanks for that tempusmaster

You're welcome.
Very new, even here in Japan.


I was a bit daunted by that fact when I first decided which one to buy. Think I made the right choice for me though..


It is a good choice. Almost all of the KHR-2HV information also applies to the KHR-1HV, with very few exceptions. There will be a lot more information available very soon.

I'm not sure what you're referencing. Could you post a manual page reference, photo, or screenshot?


I will locate the reference and post it so you can see

Okay. I'll watch for it.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Post by PaulP » Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:47 am

Post by PaulP
Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:47 am

O.K.

I've seen it a hundred times where people get told to read the instructions properly and guess what, I've become one of those people..

I put the robot in the corner to stop it from distracting me and read all the different english versions of the documents I've come across.

Firstly, I mistook the Trim Dialog for the POS dialog when looking in the Japanese manual. This meant that none of my trims were set right. Now he can do all the sample motions properly except walk.. He toppples over but that is going to be just fine adjustment...

Secondly, Scenarios.. Its where you can make a macro of several different movements to be played in sequence... I get it now.... and I have 4 different ones I can make S1, S2, S3 and S4.. It makes sense...

Thirdly, the little switch, Im assuming the links next to it allow you to extend it outside the cover to make it easier to access. Still not spotted the bit in the software where you can assign it a motion but I'm sure I'll find it at some point..

Thanks to all for assistance and sorry to be posting outside the proper location...

I've still yet to get to grips with who is who and where in the world you all are. Myself I'm in U.K.

I've also noticed that some of the posters are from people who run this forum and the shop... Your efforts are much appreciated..
O.K.

I've seen it a hundred times where people get told to read the instructions properly and guess what, I've become one of those people..

I put the robot in the corner to stop it from distracting me and read all the different english versions of the documents I've come across.

Firstly, I mistook the Trim Dialog for the POS dialog when looking in the Japanese manual. This meant that none of my trims were set right. Now he can do all the sample motions properly except walk.. He toppples over but that is going to be just fine adjustment...

Secondly, Scenarios.. Its where you can make a macro of several different movements to be played in sequence... I get it now.... and I have 4 different ones I can make S1, S2, S3 and S4.. It makes sense...

Thirdly, the little switch, Im assuming the links next to it allow you to extend it outside the cover to make it easier to access. Still not spotted the bit in the software where you can assign it a motion but I'm sure I'll find it at some point..

Thanks to all for assistance and sorry to be posting outside the proper location...

I've still yet to get to grips with who is who and where in the world you all are. Myself I'm in U.K.

I've also noticed that some of the posters are from people who run this forum and the shop... Your efforts are much appreciated..
PaulP offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:00 am
Location: West Mids, United Kingdom

Post by zaboomafuu » Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:37 am

Post by zaboomafuu
Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:37 am

hehe ask her if she can fix it she wil come back with a resounding no then say well till then leave me alone and let me work on it.... ( can ya tell I am not merried)
hehe ask her if she can fix it she wil come back with a resounding no then say well till then leave me alone and let me work on it.... ( can ya tell I am not merried)
zaboomafuu offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:00 am
Location: southwest florida

Post by PaulP » Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:40 am

Post by PaulP
Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:40 am

If I said that to her I would spend the next month sleeping with the robot on the sofa....
If I said that to her I would spend the next month sleeping with the robot on the sofa....
PaulP offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:00 am
Location: West Mids, United Kingdom

Post by tempusmaster » Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:16 am

Post by tempusmaster
Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:16 am

PaulP wrote:O.K.

I've seen it a hundred times where people get told to read the instructions properly and guess what, I've become one of those people..


I'm one too... :)

I put the robot in the corner to stop it from distracting me and read all the different english versions of the documents I've come across.

Firstly, I mistook the Trim Dialog for the POS dialog when looking in the Japanese manual. This meant that none of my trims were set right.


Ouch! 8O
That must have been fun.

Now he can do all the sample motions properly except walk.. He toppples over but that is going to be just fine adjustment...


Getting the home position set right can be a little tricky. It's more sensitive, and more critical, than most people think when they first start with humanoids.

Also, it helps if you use a smooth, flat, level work surface. Early on I spent a couple hours trying to get my first KHR-1 set right - and thought it was perfect - only to have it fall down as soon as I turned it around and tried walking. It turned out that my desktop was tilted... :roll:

Secondly, Scenarios.. Its where you can make a macro of several different movements to be played in sequence... I get it now.... and I have 4 different ones I can make S1, S2, S3 and S4.. It makes sense...


They can be very useful, especially for putting together long motion sequences.

Thirdly, the little switch, Im assuming the links next to it allow you to extend it outside the cover to make it easier to access. Still not spotted the bit in the software where you can assign it a motion but I'm sure I'll find it at some point..


I don't recall where it shows up in the manual. It's probably in the extended manual (Japanese) that covers setting up the remote control, gyro and acceleration sensors, etc.

Thanks to all for assistance and sorry to be posting outside the proper location...


No problem.

I've still yet to get to grips with who is who and where in the world you all are. Myself I'm in U.K.


I'm in Chiba, just outside of Tokyo.

I've also noticed that some of the posters are from people who run this forum and the shop... Your efforts are much appreciated..


The forum and shop belong to Limor. The rest of us are just devoted robot fans that try to help each other out whenever we can.
PaulP wrote:O.K.

I've seen it a hundred times where people get told to read the instructions properly and guess what, I've become one of those people..


I'm one too... :)

I put the robot in the corner to stop it from distracting me and read all the different english versions of the documents I've come across.

Firstly, I mistook the Trim Dialog for the POS dialog when looking in the Japanese manual. This meant that none of my trims were set right.


Ouch! 8O
That must have been fun.

Now he can do all the sample motions properly except walk.. He toppples over but that is going to be just fine adjustment...


Getting the home position set right can be a little tricky. It's more sensitive, and more critical, than most people think when they first start with humanoids.

Also, it helps if you use a smooth, flat, level work surface. Early on I spent a couple hours trying to get my first KHR-1 set right - and thought it was perfect - only to have it fall down as soon as I turned it around and tried walking. It turned out that my desktop was tilted... :roll:

Secondly, Scenarios.. Its where you can make a macro of several different movements to be played in sequence... I get it now.... and I have 4 different ones I can make S1, S2, S3 and S4.. It makes sense...


They can be very useful, especially for putting together long motion sequences.

Thirdly, the little switch, Im assuming the links next to it allow you to extend it outside the cover to make it easier to access. Still not spotted the bit in the software where you can assign it a motion but I'm sure I'll find it at some point..


I don't recall where it shows up in the manual. It's probably in the extended manual (Japanese) that covers setting up the remote control, gyro and acceleration sensors, etc.

Thanks to all for assistance and sorry to be posting outside the proper location...


No problem.

I've still yet to get to grips with who is who and where in the world you all are. Myself I'm in U.K.


I'm in Chiba, just outside of Tokyo.

I've also noticed that some of the posters are from people who run this forum and the shop... Your efforts are much appreciated..


The forum and shop belong to Limor. The rest of us are just devoted robot fans that try to help each other out whenever we can.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Previous
Previous
25 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
25 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
cron