What is teaching mode ?

Anything that doesn't fit our other forums goes here.
6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1

What is teaching mode ?

Post by Guest » Mon Apr 11, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by Guest
Mon Apr 11, 2005 6:26 pm

It seems according to Kondo documentation that the ability to read servos is used in the so called 'teaching mode'. What is this mode ?
Is it used in Heartoheart ?
It seems according to Kondo documentation that the ability to read servos is used in the so called 'teaching mode'. What is this mode ?
Is it used in Heartoheart ?
Guest offline

Post by limor » Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:35 pm

Post by limor
Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:35 pm

Technically what HeartToHeart does in "teaching mode" is turn off the PWM signal to the motors and take a one-off read of the servos positions (potentiometer's values).

When the servos are turned on and you try to rotate the robot's arm (for example) you will find that the robot is very stiff and increadibly tough to rotate. By turning off (one or more) motors, you are then able to mold the robot into a pose and capture the servo relative rotational positions that define that pose. Using HeartToHeart again, you record a few of these poses and then you can create a motion sequence that transits between the poses. The transition between each pose in the sequence can be fast or slow at one of 7 possible speeds.

Finally, after you record several of these motion sequences (ex: "kick", "walk", "punch", "get up") you map them to keyboard or gamepad keys and you play the robot like in a video game. Here's where the radio unit comes handy.
Technically what HeartToHeart does in "teaching mode" is turn off the PWM signal to the motors and take a one-off read of the servos positions (potentiometer's values).

When the servos are turned on and you try to rotate the robot's arm (for example) you will find that the robot is very stiff and increadibly tough to rotate. By turning off (one or more) motors, you are then able to mold the robot into a pose and capture the servo relative rotational positions that define that pose. Using HeartToHeart again, you record a few of these poses and then you can create a motion sequence that transits between the poses. The transition between each pose in the sequence can be fast or slow at one of 7 possible speeds.

Finally, after you record several of these motion sequences (ex: "kick", "walk", "punch", "get up") you map them to keyboard or gamepad keys and you play the robot like in a video game. Here's where the radio unit comes handy.
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by inaki » Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:30 am

Post by inaki
Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:30 am

The following example shows hot to display real time values of a motor being managed in teaching mode. Just run the program and use your hand to move the head of the KHR (motor 6). You will see the position values being updated on the PC display in real time. Pres ESC to end the test.

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/inaki/khr_teach.c
The following example shows hot to display real time values of a motor being managed in teaching mode. Just run the program and use your hand to move the head of the KHR (motor 6). You will see the position values being updated on the PC display in real time. Pres ESC to end the test.

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/inaki/khr_teach.c
inaki offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:00 am
Location: EH

Post by Guest » Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:31 am

Post by Guest
Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:31 am

what does the switch bit do?
what does the switch bit do?
Guest offline

Post by inaki » Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:01 pm

Post by inaki
Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:01 pm

The switch bit 1 is the motion bit. It pauses motion when set (motion bit=1). When motion is stopped if we read the motors positions we get the actual position from the servo itself. However if motion is running (motion bit=0) we get the current positions stored in the RCB controller.
When you reset the motion bit the motion resumes at the point it stopped.
The switch bit 1 is the motion bit. It pauses motion when set (motion bit=1). When motion is stopped if we read the motors positions we get the actual position from the servo itself. However if motion is running (motion bit=0) we get the current positions stored in the RCB controller.
When you reset the motion bit the motion resumes at the point it stopped.
inaki offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:00 am
Location: EH

Post by limor » Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:26 am

Post by limor
Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:26 am

The actual ICS servos protocol doesn't seem to demand switching them off before a position read. Maybe they didn't assume that anyone would want the feedback in runtime.. :?
The actual ICS servos protocol doesn't seem to demand switching them off before a position read. Maybe they didn't assume that anyone would want the feedback in runtime.. :?
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK


6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1