When the KHR consumes battery?

Anything that doesn't fit our other forums goes here.
2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1

When the KHR consumes battery?

Post by inaki » Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:43 am

Post by inaki
Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:43 am

I have connected the battery as follows: the RCB board in the left is ID0 and the board on the right is ID1. The battery is connected on the board ID0. The board ID0 is powered from the ID1 through a bridge (there is another bridge for data).

I start the robot using a switch on the board ID1, the one on the right.
When I start the robot it automatically moves to home position.
Until now all is as expected.

However, I have noticed that even if I do not set the switch ON, motors can move when I put ON or OFF my PC or I connect or disconnect the serial port. On the other hand, I have observed that the battery runs out even if I do not have the robot powered. Note that the battery remains connected. So I suspect the circuit is powered even when switches are all OFF. If I leave the battery connected overnite it will be dead by the morning.

Are the RCB boards taking any power when all switches are OFF ? In other words, is the circuit on the RCB boards powered ON all the time when the battery is connected even if switches are OFF ?
I have connected the battery as follows: the RCB board in the left is ID0 and the board on the right is ID1. The battery is connected on the board ID0. The board ID0 is powered from the ID1 through a bridge (there is another bridge for data).

I start the robot using a switch on the board ID1, the one on the right.
When I start the robot it automatically moves to home position.
Until now all is as expected.

However, I have noticed that even if I do not set the switch ON, motors can move when I put ON or OFF my PC or I connect or disconnect the serial port. On the other hand, I have observed that the battery runs out even if I do not have the robot powered. Note that the battery remains connected. So I suspect the circuit is powered even when switches are all OFF. If I leave the battery connected overnite it will be dead by the morning.

Are the RCB boards taking any power when all switches are OFF ? In other words, is the circuit on the RCB boards powered ON all the time when the battery is connected even if switches are OFF ?
inaki offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:00 am
Location: EH

Post by limor » Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:25 pm

Post by limor
Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:25 pm

The RCB-1 uses the battery power even when it is not "on". I've had the same experience and i've seen it mentioned in Japanese documentation.
Don't know what the rational is but it is easily resolved by unplugging the battery from the circuit when you don't use it.
The RCB-1 uses the battery power even when it is not "on". I've had the same experience and i've seen it mentioned in Japanese documentation.
Don't know what the rational is but it is easily resolved by unplugging the battery from the circuit when you don't use it.
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK


2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1